PDA

View Full Version : Create a module for newbies

Grosnounou
April 2nd, 2008, 20:23
Hi, i am a newbie for FG2, i bought the full license, but i would like to know if any of you can help a newbie create a module... I have no knowledge at all on this program...

Thanks

Valarian
April 2nd, 2008, 20:57
The modules are in the Application Directory (from the Start, Programs menu). Copy one of the .mod files and rename it to .zip. Open up the zip file. The files are XML.

This thread describes the different types of file in a module.
https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6446

joshuha
April 2nd, 2008, 21:16
Realize there are two types of modules.

One is a library module, built offline straight in XML and shows up in the Library section in the interface. This is usually used for references for rules and tables and what not.

The second is commonly called an adventure module. This is where you can create story entries, NPCs, maps, etc. through the interface and bundle it all together. You might want to do this to share your adventure with others or to keep a main campaign a little less cluttered by bringing these adventures and just removing them when your group is finished. To make one of these you just type /export while in FG and it will bring up the interface.

Once you select the options (most of which are explained here https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6446) then you right click and hit export to bundle all of that to a .mod file.

Grosnounou
April 2nd, 2008, 22:25
You already lost me here :)

I am completly newbie on this... I am not even sure what XML is?

Do you have a step by step wizard that can explain how to do?

Foen
April 3rd, 2008, 06:24
I think you may want to start out with the more straightforward stuff and then gradually attempt more complex projects as you gain confidence.