PDA

View Full Version : Connection issues?

Loki
March 3rd, 2008, 05:50
Hey all,

Anyone else having a connection issue on Sun March 2nd? We've been using the alias option seamlessly for a couple of sessions and then all of the sudden tonight no one can connect. I'm no expert by far... Anyone know what might be causing the connection issue? Anyone else have the same problems?

Thanks much,

Loki

jthm0138
March 3rd, 2008, 06:33
Edited since my advice is not wanted by the community at large.

Loki
March 3rd, 2008, 14:10
Just gonna take a stab in the dark here.. But it sounds like you are behind a router that is set for dynamic IP allocation. What that means is that you only "lease" your IP address from you router, and it will change from time to time. Sounds like it changed, and you are now forwarding ports to the wrong computer....

Again that is just a stab in the dark.. but the most common cause of that issue.
Hi jthm,

I am no networking expert at all so if it sounds like I know what I'm talking about...I don't. ;-)

That said, I am behind a router w/ a firewall in it, but doesn't (I might be off my rocker here.) the "alias" option of hosting a game take care of the dynamic ip problem? I've used it to host games three times previously and it's worked without a hitch. Last night though, no joy.

The thing that bothers me most is that I can't figure out what had changed between last night and the previous sessions. Nothing that I could see...

So do most people host games using a static ip (setting it up via TCP/IP and then port forwarding if they've got a firewall and a dynamic ip) or do they use the alias method?

Another odd thing is that on the off chance that it was on my end, my buddy tried using the alias option of hosting a game and I tried connecting. Again, no luck. Which makes me think that it was something other than our machines... But I'm no expert. ;-)

Thanks for the help.

jthm0138
March 3rd, 2008, 17:53

jthm0138
March 3rd, 2008, 17:58

Loki