PDA

View Full Version : Access to NPC and PC values for modules/extensions development

snupy
December 16th, 2023, 14:26
I am wondering how accessible are all the values in a PC and NPC sheet for retrieval and use in the development of extensions/modules, and, since I fear the current situation is not the best possible, what could be done to improve on it. At this point this is mostly out of curiosity, while I have some programming experience I don't have any specific one about FG or immediate plans to work on it.

Let me mention two examples (I am thinking of PFRPG but it probably applies more generally)

- speed. It would be nice if FG could read the creature speed and give a visual indication if you are exceeding the allowed movement (not preventing anything, just give the info). For example, when on a gridded map and while dragging or when movement is locked one could see different colour codings for the allowed movements, e.g. for a 30ft speed green up to 30 (only using move action) yellow 30-60 (move+standard) red beyond 60. I know Foundry can do that and what I described is the behaviour of a popular extension. It would be helpful especially as a GM since I can't remember the speed of any random npc/monster.

- applying templates. I bought the advanced bestiary to see how this plays out, and while the extension has its pros it still feels half-baked in what it accomplishes. E.g. changes to strength don't change attacks or damage. Even fully automatising the simple advanced template of bestiary 1 is not possible. I am not complaining about the purchase per se since this is explicitly said somewhere in the product video. Although, as with many things FG, it would be nice to have a place where everything which is and isn't done by something is clearly written down rather than having to hunt for info here and there and having to test most stuff.