PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Mapping Apps/Files

Doombringer
February 5th, 2008, 18:32
I was wondering what the communities favorite means of doing maps for their games is. Up till now my maps have always been hand drawn, and often only sufficient for in game reference as I used a mat for drawing dungeons, and generally simply described locations.

I've been considering ProFantasy's software, but I have to admit I am slightly daunted at eventually getting so into it that I have bought 500 dollars of software for it.

Foen
February 5th, 2008, 22:34
I have the ProFantasy software and must say I find it very hard to use (though it does create good-looking results if you have the patience to learn it).

As mentioned elsewhere, I am a bit of a luddite and have reverted to PowerPoint (*hangs head in shame*).

Cheers

Stuart

nezzir
February 5th, 2008, 22:34
Try Dundjinni then, it's a lot cheaper and has some great community support (lots of art).

I'm a bit of a Pro-Fantasy biggot myself. The newest version even has .png support, so all the art from the Dundjinni community (which is awesome, did I say that already?), works with it as well.

Doombringer
February 5th, 2008, 22:54
i tried the Djudinni demo and was sadly disapointed. The first and biggest issue I had was when I clicked to draw, drag a tile, whatever, it would not start where I clicked but down and to the right. It annoyed me enough I did not bother figuring out any more than that.

I have photoshop and illustrator, I have been thinking of seeing what I can do with those.

RiverRat
February 5th, 2008, 22:56
Dunjinni is an excellant program that can produce beautiful results. That being said I found the interface oversimplified and counterintuitive. The community support is awesome (like nezzir said).