PDA

View Full Version : PDF to WEBP tool

sedgetone
June 24th, 2023, 12:37
In an attempt to learn Python, I thought I'd motivate myself by doing something hobby related. Now I can't stress this enough, I AM NOT A CODER. What I've made works for me and I hope some of you folks get some use out of it too. Don't worry if you haven't got Python installed, I've built a Windows executable but you will still need Poppler installed and in your PATH environment variable.

This is a simple little app that provides two functions:

1. Converts each full page of a PDF to a WEBP
2. Extracts images from a PDF and converts them to WEBP

Installation
Grab the app from my Google drive, the Python script is there as well if you want to use/abuse that instead. I've put some comments in the top regarding required libraries if you need to run it.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1UWjs6WQU3TtFyHf2CSWzKykEvLujy7FB?usp=sharing

Make sure you download and setup Poppler:
https://github.com/oschwartz10612/poppler-windows/releases
1. Download the latest release zip file and extract it.
2. Copy the extracted poppler folder in to C:\Program Files\.
3. Click the Windows search and type environment, in the results select "Edit environment variables for your account".
4. In the upper box titled "User variables for <username>", Select Path and press the Edit button.
5. Click New and Browse to the poppler bin directory. For example for me it was C:\Program Files\poppler-23.05.0\Library\bin
6. Ok and close off the settings.

Check Poppler is working:
1. Click Windows Start icon and type cmd, open the Command Prompt tab.
2. If Poppler is installed you should be able to type pdfinfo.exe -h and run it. If it says that it can't find pdfinfo.exe then check you've set the bin properly in the Path variable.

Usage