PDA

View Full Version : The OSR and Fantasy Grounds: Where are We?

Grimm Pickins
December 23rd, 2022, 04:14
Hello Fellow Grounders,

My last foray into trying to jump into FG was when Classic was still the majority of the content, and I had learned a bit to make a decent game - though life had other ideas, as family health issues and subsequently a nasty little virus changed my work life in a way I didn't expect (Explanation: I was a head chef for a boarding school, with predictable time off - but with the labor shortage in restaurants, I returned to my first culinary love - which actually created a lot more work in my life, and still does...)

I put my campaign development into stasis for awhile - but subsequently Unity was released, and I followed along. I recently even upgraded to 'ultimate' during a Steam sale, something I had waited years to do - as I wasn't sure I wanted to commit to one VTT. Now I have.

I realize there is a lot of OSR content for Fantasy Grounds, in a way. Dungeon Crawl Classics, Old School Essentials, White Box/Swords and Wizardry, 2e AD&D (with 1e mods even), Castles and Crusades...

When I browse the LFP/LFG posts, when I search YouTube, when I'm googling who else is doing this - I don't get a lot. Maybe a tutorial on a ruleset, maybe a few live 2e games using Unity.

I realize that A LOT of the OSR crowd probably gravitate towards 'theater of the mind' on Discord, or 'freedom of the wallet' on Roll20... but there is support here for it.

So, who is playing these games? I want desperately to support these creators, and see new games spin off (I honestly am a big fan of ascending AC for a grognard, and only C&C and DCC seem to have that feature as of now - I know it's automated and is a very low worry, but... but...)