PDA

View Full Version : Looking for information about character modifiers

Shedena
October 26th, 2022, 16:48
Ok I'm very new to DM ing. I have a wild imagination and thought I'd give it a try. I have played many "earlier" versions. So I love this game.

My question is I have a couple of player who have made characters. One is a Leonin race, blood magic as the class and outlander as the background. In doing this the modifers are CRAZY! How am I building a starting game when the modifiers are more like.....4 or 5th level characters? How does one decide what is given based on class, background, and race or for half breeds?

I have another character who's race is half-shadar-kai and half yuan-ti. She found a website that gave her backgrounds. So this character has shadar-kai, yuan-ti, cleric and sex slave. They have taken ever aspect of each thing creating a character to which again modifiers are crazy.

Or are they adding these numbers to the wrong places? Should these numbers be in the ability scores?

I know you get modifiers based on what you know. So maybe I'm wrong in my understanding? I'm so confused now. Help anyone!!!

LordEntrails
October 26th, 2022, 17:29
Yea don't allow it. Just because it's online doesn't mean it works or is fair to other players.

You need to tell the players wat the character creation rules are. i.e. what races and classes are allowed along with what source books etc. I would suggest a standard array for ability scores.

Now, if you want to allow other stuff, then it all has to be pre-approved by you. In short, allow racial modifiers to be +2 to one ability and +1 to another. Then make sure racial features are in line with the ones from the PHB, same with background etc. Or you can also let players take an approved race and reflavor it. Call it something else, give it a different history and description, but make the mechanics the same as an existing race.

Shedena
October 26th, 2022, 17:41
Thank you very much for your help

LordEntrails