PDA

View Full Version : How to Demo?

jjensen6823
February 24th, 2022, 01:37
I'm new to FG (I did look at it briefly a few years ago but never used it). and I'd like to try it out before I decide to buy it, but I can't figure out how to do that. I installed the demo version, but the only option seems to be "Create a Campaign", and it won't let me do that unless I buy a license. Am I missing something?

Jim

bmos
February 24th, 2022, 01:43
Buy a license. There's a 30 day no questions asked return policy.

It should let you connect to campaigns with no license.

JohnD
February 24th, 2022, 01:43
Smiteworks has a no questions asked 30-day money back policy. You can buy a license and use for 30 days, ask for a refund if FG isn't what you're looking for.

As for the Demo, that's really only useful for being a player connecting to a game run by someone with an Ultimate license. You can sort of poke under the hood with it, but nothing is saved and IMO it doesn't give you the "full" width and breadth of the FG experience.

jjensen6823
February 24th, 2022, 02:24
Well, I paid for the one-time Ultimate license, but I still haven't received a license code, so I still can't do anything...

damned
February 24th, 2022, 03:48
Hi jjensen6823

The serial numbers should be sent to your email address.
If your PayPal email address is different to your Forum account email address check that one too.

Next stop is to go to https://support.fantasygrounds.com/ and log a ticket with as much info as possible and they will get you squared away.

There is (or used to be at least) an issue where Paypal would sit on some transactions for 24 hours - if that has happened then its a waiting game...

In the meantime you can try Load Campaign and there should be a (really basic) 5E Sample Campaign which will give you a bit of a taste.

Sulimo
February 24th, 2022, 04:28