PDA

View Full Version : Do I have time/skills for this?

Meliora
September 14th, 2007, 19:06
Hi all,

I have been looking for an online RPG tool for a bit of time, and I guess it was only a matter of time before I found Fantasy Grounds. Now I’m here, have tried the demo and check a little bit around on the forum and related sites. But, I’m still a bit from actually clicking buy. My issues are that I mainly want to play/DM, not getting into XMLs coding, and the game I want to use, I cannot find a rule set for. So I wonder how hard and time consuming is it to make a new rule set, based on D20, but with quite a few changes. I have no experience with XML, so please go lite on me :).

I will use a few examples on what I know I want to change. Please, describe it in newbish steps. There is no need for adding specific codes, more like, “Go into the following file and change one/a few/many lines”.

Alright, to my specific question:

No Longer relevant, after richvalle gave this noob some good answers. But if you still want to help me (please ;) ), his answers lead to others, plus there was a few unanswered. Please, just down to my next post.

I will need a new character sheet. If I have a physical sheet and a scanner, how would I bring it into the game, and can you give an example on how to make two new abilities add and subtract their bonuses automatically to a Dodge Stat on the sheet?
I want to change the background and font to another style that is more fitting for my campaign. How hard would that be and can you describe in simple steps how I would do such?
Very related to question two, but I also have a handful of tokens I want to use instead of the ones in Fantasy Grounds II. How many steps would that take?
I want to add a feat that gives a user + 2 in Dodge when flat-footed. How much work is that?