PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob = How to DW2 & CP2020?

VgnFrnd
September 13th, 2007, 17:54
Hi. I am a total, total noob, but I do like entering data sometimes. Indeed, I would like to use the copy of FGII that I purchased to run Darwins World 2 (DW2) and Cyberpunk 2020 (CP2020)

DW2 runs on the d20 modern rule, with the addition of "mutant" feats. I've read as much of the "ruleset modification guide" as I can understand, so I am aware of the basic difference between rulesets and databases in FGII. I am also aware that Thore & Co. are getting ready to publish the msrd in FGII format. Finally, I know that Cyjack is almost done with a modern-inspired skin for FGII.

However, I remain confused about a few things. For example, Thore & Co. have said with regard to their d20 SRD and SW releases that they are not rulesets. Instead, they are modules, because FGII doesn't support rulesets in the same sense as FGI did. But the "ruleset modification guide" says that FGII rulesets contain the sheets and logic that govern the way database data is displayed and processed. So, it seems to me (perhaps erroneously), that if I try to simply plug in DW2 and CP2020 datasets (or, for that matter, DA's MSRD modules) and try to use them with FGII's standard d20 ruleset, FGII will not be able to process the data and rules that are specific to the MSRD, DW2, or CP2020 because FGII would still be relying on the d20 SRD ruleset, which is not coded to process other rulesets according to their own, varying logics. <-- I hope that made sense.

Also, as far as I can tell, Cyjack's skin is just that: a skin that changes the "look and feel" of FGII, but does not alter any of its processes.

Thus, finally, I can't figure out where to begin if I want FGII to work with both rulesets and databases that are designed specifically for DW2, CP2020, or d20 Modern.