PDA

View Full Version : Game match and finding players app

donpaulo
January 3rd, 2022, 07:28
Hello all,

I was wondering about the complexity of setting up an app that would connect GM and players using some filter criteria

Although I am very thankful for the forums and have found some great games and people there, I think that some kind of searchable database would really be a great feature

You will have to accept my apologies as I am not a coder nor do I really know about the effort involved in such an campaign

If the app had some simple search terms like day, time, game along with contact information filled out by the GM/Player wouldn't that streamline things ?

How much does something like this cost to implement ?

How much "coding" and fine tuning time does it require ?

Could we work with FG and create some sort of online financial campaign to get this kind of thing rolling ?

The idea of hunting and pecking for interested players/games is a bit daunting when you consider that some folks do not post some critical aspects of the game involved and the only current way I know is to click on each heading and read it. Then perhaps discover that a player has already been found.

Hoping this thread will at the least educate me about some of the details involved in this kind of endeavor

TiA

Valyar
January 3rd, 2022, 09:04
Depending on the experience of the developer, this can be something that can take relatively low about of efforts (because of existing frameworks that can be used to set up the backend and only focus on the frontend) to quite a lot of time for unexperienced guy. Take it few weeks average.

The more important question is - why set up something, as there are already places you can do that. One example is: https://www.rpgtablefinder.com

Problem is the fragmentation of the community - people who use Roll20 use their forums to recruit and etc.

donpaulo
January 3rd, 2022, 09:09