PDA

View Full Version : Creating a Deck of Cards, need a reference point

Lorddamax
August 27th, 2007, 14:23
I am going to be adding Gamemastery's Critical Hit Deck into my FG ruleset.

I know with FG2 there is scripting, I've been waiting for FG2 to come out to do that.

What I need is some start point, a reference to look at to get me started. Something that shows you clicking a button, and the game showing an image. I found the scripting and XML references, but from what i've seen there are no examples listed. I'm an excellent programmer but everything is easier with a base to work off of.

The code I can do. The starting point is what I need. Has anyone done anything similar, or is there something already in FG that works like that that I'm unaware of that someone could point me to?

Foen
August 27th, 2007, 16:45
Take a look at Joshuha's explanation, below.

Lorddamax
August 27th, 2007, 17:03
I bought FG1 last year at Gencon and completely redid the ruleset to work with my house rules. FG2 is a cool enough update that I'm using that now, but dont have the time to bother screwing with redoing my ruleset. So I'm going standard 3.5 with house rules piled on top. Are modules new? I dont remember them from before - I wanted to check out the d20 spells and saw it's a binary mod file and no longer a xml.

What I want is to have a button on the desktop or char sheet (I am coomfortable editing the ruleset to add this, I COMPLETELY rewrote the char sheet min FG1) where when its clicked it pops up a window with an image in it, and automaticallly shares the image with all players. With simple rng functionality I can make it pick from a random assortment of images.

I am just not sure about how to cause the image to appear and auto-share it to all player desktops.

Am I making sense?

joshuha
August 27th, 2007, 17:08
This is doable but will require some work to get it right.