PDA

View Full Version : The Eternal Question

Random
August 2nd, 2007, 07:08
Yup, same question you've heard time and time again. This time with a twist however.

I'm a longtime player and DM of AD&D 2nd edition. I have some limited experience with 3.5, limited to a game or two and a rather massive collection of books. I haven't played at all in the past 2-3 years, however I'm looking to get back into the hobby. The reasoning behind this is primarily due to the completely amazing Iron Kingdoms campaign setting.

So, with all that background info, here's the questions.

Would Fantasy Grounds be a good program for me to re-enter the hobby with?

My primary interest would be in DMing, as that's what I enjoy from gaming. Is it relatively easy to port in a campaign setting?

Would I have difficulty finding players who would be forgiving of my relative inexperience with the 3.5 rules?

I'd also like to close by saying thank you for spending the time to read my thread, and if you answer, for answering as well.

Cheers,
Random

Oberoten
August 2nd, 2007, 08:57
I believe that the main advantage of FG is just that. Giving you a chance to get back into roleplaying with a bit less hassle on finding a group near you who doesn't have so many schedule conflicts.

If you want to be a GM, you will need a full license, porting in material is mostly data-entry as long as you play 3.5.

As for the rest, as long as you are polite you will find the community welcoming and very helpful.

Best Wishes - Obe

richvalle
August 2nd, 2007, 15:49
Hello and welcome!

I think FG is a good option to jump back in for the same reasons Oberoten says.

Getting a campaign setup really depends on how much work you want to put into it. You can get by with a min. amount buy just importing in some maps. and running the rest 'on the fly'. On the other side you can make a lot of linked maps, create all the NPC's and put them on the maps, create a lot of content and story/background material.