PDA

View Full Version : Can i? A question about masking...

dnmdk
July 21st, 2007, 15:24
Hi, Im new to FGII...

I think masked maps is a very nice feature, but when i cut in the masked specially in dungeons I usually reveals secret pathways and doors because my mouse hand is a little shaky...

Is it possible to unmask with a rectangle tool somehow? thought about drawing by holding ALT, CTRL or SHIFT but that don't work? any ideas?

If its not in built in FGII? would it be possible to script the functionality?

/Lasse

John_Geeshu
July 21st, 2007, 16:15
I'll tell you how I get around this issue. There are several ways.

1. Leave a gap between secret passages/doors/chambers and the main dungeon so you can easily unmask the sections around them without displaying their presence.

2. Don't put secret passages/doors/chambers on the map, but know where they are -- using shortcuts -- and when they are discovered draw them freehand with the drawing tool.

3. Make walls very thick so you have plenty of space to draw along them. It also helps with this method, to build your map on a black background so that everywhere that is not a passage or chamber is filled in.

4. Put in more secret trapdoors with chambers/passages vertically above or below. These then require a point of reference (use shortcuts) and a separate map which you can open up if the secret is discovered.

Foen
July 21st, 2007, 16:35
I tend to leave a gap (ie a thick bit in the wall) between the ordinary dungeon section and the secret bit, then drop a secret door token onto the map/gap when it is discovered. I also use tokens for floor traps etc, so they are only revealed once they have been discovered.

Stuart
(Foen)

joshuha
July 21st, 2007, 17:54
my mouse hand is a little shaky...

It may not help much but if you are in the middle of masking and realize you have drawn the wrong area hitting escape will undo the current reveal. This only works if you haven't released the mouse button yet though.

dnmdk