PDA

View Full Version : Yet another help request for connecting to the GM

Ninjafied Zombie
July 19th, 2007, 00:15
Hi, guys.
Okay, I'm brand new to FG, just bought a full version to play around with, and I want to get my gaming group hooked up to it as well.
My GM and I both downloaded the demo and we are trying to get the connection to his PC to work properly before buying several more copies of FG for the rest of the group.

Well, as things usually go with our wonderful, modern technologies, it doesn't work. Now, before anyone tells me that I should search the forums for this information I will go ahead and say that I have. I've done everything I can think of to get it to work. I've forwarded port 1802, turned off his firewall, put his computer in DMZ, set a static IP for him, and nothing seems to work. The closest I've gotten it to working is connecting with a laptop inside his WAN, but when I go home and try to connect, nothing (yes, I try to connect to his external IP).

There are only two computers in his WAN: his desktop and a laptop. He's using a Linksys WRT54G router. I'm not sure of any other pertinent info you might need so I apologize if I haven't posted enough.

I did scan port 1802 with FG running and the port was stealthed, but I am at a loss as to how to open it.
Any help or suggestions you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Dachannien
July 19th, 2007, 00:34
One possibility is that there is a device (such as a cable modem) outside the router that is blocking access. The ISP itself could also be filtering traffic. Most cable modems aren't configured to do this, but you never know.

Ninjafied Zombie
July 19th, 2007, 00:52
I know that he does in fact have a DSL/cable/something modem. It is a Siemens Speedstream 4200. Any suggestions for how to get into it and check?

Griogre
July 19th, 2007, 05:03