PDA

View Full Version : Free modules - competition

liberti_cap
July 17th, 2007, 17:23
Hey,

I'm new to FG, in fact i haven't even managed to play my first game yet. However, as a D&D player (as well as numerous other RPGs) spanning back longer than i would care to recall, I have had a few thoughts.

Being new to all this, I can't help but notice a certain lack of resources for newbies, such as ready to run adventures - so that people can get a feel for running and playing games before having to create there own stuff.

Now since people here are pretty concerned about copyrights and other such law-abiding practices, I was wondering why FG hasn't started a module competition/rating system to encourage designers to submit their own original work for the use of the community.

As much 'fun' as converting pre-made modules into computer-based adventures I'm sure can be - the art of conceiving, designing and crafting original material is surely what being a DM is all about.

I propose that we create an environment that rewards the originality, creativity and generosity of the role playing community that we are a part of (not to mention the competitiveness of all us 'players of games').

Anyway, how about it?

Toadwart
July 17th, 2007, 21:46
Nice idea :D

There seems to be more game systems these days than actual adventures to run in them.

SirJoe
July 18th, 2007, 02:45
Expanding on this idea, the folks at SmiteWorks could use this to get more acceptance of their product. What they could do is:

1. Create a forum (or forum thread) for people to upload their adventures (build around the standard SRD to avoid any copyright issues.)

2. Encourage members to download and run these adventures, then have two voting sections: one for GMs and the other for players.