PDA

View Full Version : Using FG in face-to-face games

Hamish
July 13th, 2007, 10:17
I have a group of friends that I've been playing D&D with for the last 15 to 20 years or so. We've recently discovered FG, and we can definitely see the great possibilities for playing online. As we are about to start a new campaign in our face-to-face sessions as well, I was wondering if anyone has ever used FG for GMing those?
What are the options? What features can you use when using 1 or 2 laptops on the table. What features are going to give problems? Anyone ever tried this?

P.S. We all have a FG2 license, so there's no problem there.

Valarian
July 13th, 2007, 10:38
I'd imagine using the laptops for displaying maps and images would be the best use. The character sheets and dice throwing ... sorry, rolling ... would be the same as a normal tabletop session. Oh, the beer and munchies stay the same as well.

I'd probably have the two laptops back to back and connected with a crossed-over network cable. The one facing the players running FG2 lite, and the one facing the GM running the full version.

Hamish
July 13th, 2007, 10:49
Thanks for the quick reply. I thought maps would be the biggest advantage....
How about using the combat tracker and spells minisheet? Obviously, the combat tracker is available only on the GM machine, but would he be able to add characters that are not logged in at the moment? Could he open up the spells minisheet of a character other than the one actually logged on at the player machine?

Valgard
July 13th, 2007, 11:03
Player Characters that are entered into the combat tracker will stay even after the player has logged off, so you could populate it that way, not sure if you can put them in otherwise. You can open the character sheets and mini sheets of all the characters on the server, so that wouldn't be a problem.

Ian

Valarian
July 13th, 2007, 11:05