PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion: Simplify starship combat display

swbuza
March 22nd, 2021, 17:09
On the PC Starship Weapons tab (which contains more than weapons), there are no fewer than 28 boxes used to display the status of systems and shields/firing arcs. It works, but I think it could be simplified to just 8 boxes.

We need to track Life Support. Sensors, Power, Engines, Forward, Aft, Starboard, and Port arcs. That's eight systems, and all the information we need can go in one box for each system. For four of these items, the box can contain an abbreviation for the system. For the other four, they can contain the current shield value. The status (working, glitching, malfunctioning, and wrecked) could be indicated by color.

See attached image. I am not an artist.

For clarity, as depicted, Life Support, Sensors, and Starboard arc is glitching. Aft arc is malfunctioning. Port arc is wrecked. Everything else is working.

Thoughts?

Evolivolution
March 22nd, 2021, 21:51
It does look cool. I really like simplistic/minimalistic designs. I do however see an issue with this layout. You do need some sort of editing the damage state of the weapon arcs that is seperated from the shield points remaining.

swbuza
March 22nd, 2021, 22:02
Just change the color of the arcs. That's independent from the shield points number. I'm thinking click the box to rotate colors and scroll the wheel to change the shield number.

Evolivolution
March 22nd, 2021, 22:23
That's true, but that would be display only, how do you input damage to a weapon system assuming clicking on the shield arc is already reserved for editing the amount of shield points.
It's okay for the other systems because you could click to cycle through the damage states but you can't layer inputs that way.

superteddy57
March 22nd, 2021, 22:25
I would imagine it being a cycler. You click on the 'button' and it would cycle the colors.

swbuza
March 22nd, 2021, 22:33