PDA

View Full Version : Spells Learned for a New Wizard



TXCBoy36
February 28th, 2021, 06:43
I am working on creating a Wizard that specializes in Necromancy. If I am understanding this right, he has an Int 17 which allows for 14 spells per level with a 75% chance in learning a spell.

If I am reading this right, he can learn up to 14 spells in his spell book, but he has to roll 75 or lower to actually learn the spell to be placed in his spell book while only being allowed 2 spells with his bonus.

He gets a bonus of +15% when learning from their school and a penalty of -15% from other schools.

Just want to make sure that I have a good understanding.

Thanks!

celestian
February 28th, 2021, 07:13
I am working on creating a Wizard that specializes in Necromancy. If I am understanding this right, he has an Int 17 which allows for 14 spells per level with a 75% chance in learning a spell.

If I am reading this right, he can learn up to 14 spells in his spell book, but he has to roll 75 or lower to actually learn the spell to be placed in his spell book while only being allowed 2 spells with his bonus.

He gets a bonus of +15% when learning from their school and a penalty of -15% from other schools.

Just want to make sure that I have a good understanding.

Thanks!

He would have a 60% chance to learn spells that are not necromantic and 90% if they are necromantic and he can't learn spells opposite of the necromancy school.

TXCBoy36
February 28th, 2021, 07:22
Right, he can not learn any spells from the opposing school, Illusion & Enchantment/Charm....but everything else is on track?

celestian
February 28th, 2021, 07:36
Right, he can not learn any spells from the opposing school, Illusion & Enchantment/Charm....but everything else is on track?

Yeap, just know the max spells per level is not "he gets to pick the spells at level 1" those are things found over the lifetime of the character. Some DMs tend to house rule that right out (I do).

JohnD
March 1st, 2021, 04:24
And that's 14 spells of any given level, not 14 spells total.

TXCBoy36
March 3rd, 2021, 16:49
And that's 14 spells of any given level, not 14 spells total.

Ok, so at 1st level, how many spells can he attempt to learn to be placed in his spell book for memorization? 14? That seems high for 1st level. I know for 5e, they can have 6 at 1st level.

Thanks!

celestian
March 3rd, 2021, 17:50
Ok, so at 1st level, how many spells can he attempt to learn to be placed in his spell book for memorization? 14? That seems high for 1st level. I know for 5e, they can have 6 at 1st level.

Thanks!

The DMG convers exactly how many they get... for my games I give them 3+1d4. I also dont think they need to make learn checks for these granted level 1 spells, by the book.