PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Dramatic Tasks

Niles
February 2nd, 2021, 21:12
I'm trying to understand Dramatic Tasks. I clicked on Dramatic Tasks in combat tracker. Why do I need to deal a new turn card for the character attempting the dramatic task each round? Can't they go in the order they were already given when I deal action cards to all the players? When the new turn card comes up, do I use that new turn card as their order in the round instead of the one already dealt them? Thanks for any info!

ddbrown30
February 2nd, 2021, 22:04
I'm still pretty new to the system, but the rules for dramatic tasks state that action cards are dealt as usual. While it's not explicitly stated, this would also imply that any character that would normally get multiple cards is given those extra cards as normal. The logic in Fantasy Grounds is just following the rules.

Niles
February 2nd, 2021, 22:51
I'm still pretty new to the system, but the rules for dramatic tasks state that action cards are dealt as usual. While it's not explicitly stated, this would also imply that any character that would normally get multiple cards is given those extra cards as normal. The logic in Fantasy Grounds is just following the rules.

Thanks. I was just wondering because in combat tracker, the deal cards icon appears like you're supposed to deal the person doing the dramatic task a new card each round. But that person also has the action card he was already dealt, so I was wondering which one takes precedence.

Mgrancey
February 3rd, 2021, 03:08
As far as I know, and the way I have been playing, is that they still get their multiple cards: reasons include the fact that there is Jokers ,bennies all around and a +2 bonus; Calculating (bonus for acting at 5 or lower) to take into consideration; and COMPLICATIONS, see page 123 in SWADE.