PDA

View Full Version : New to Fantasy Grounds

Calidain
January 29th, 2021, 19:14
I want to preface my post by saying:
1. No I haven't read the FAQ or skimmed through these forums looking for all the answers. Mainly I am creating a new game for online D&D and I'm trying to find the best option in a timely manner to run an online game (due to Covid we can no longer meet in person)...something I have never done before.
2. I am in no way attacking or questioning Fantasy Grounds, I have done just sparse research and I haven't spent any money yet and I am trying to get a quick concise answer without offense to anyone.

I have the 5E Core books: Player's Handbook, The Dungeon's Master's Guide, and the Monster Manual. I also own the Starter Set and the Essnetials Kit. I also own all the books from the "A Young Adventurer's Guide" set since I have been playing with newer players. I myself have been playing since 1980, I was 10 years old when I began playing this game. The Blue box set (1978) was the first set I purchased from a hobby/game store in Mesa Arizona. I have owned almost every box set since and all of the Advanced D&D books released over the last several decades (I still have most of them). I drifted away from the game after I had my kids (an 8yr old and a 5yr old now), but watching Critical Role and other stuff on the internet began my resurgence in playing D&D.

Now here's my question:
Even though I own all these licensed products from Wizards of the Coast, if I wish to utilize the core 5E rules or any of the published modules/adventures such as the "Lost Mine of Phandelver", I must repurchase the digital versions through FG to run those campaigns and use those rule sets?
I just want to clarify before I move into making a purchase.

Trenloe
January 29th, 2021, 20:07
Welcome to Fantasy Grounds!

Hopefully this thread will answer most of your questions (and probably more): https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?32987-What-do-I-need-to-play-5e