PDA

View Full Version : Add tab to character sheet

Hamish
June 13th, 2007, 19:12
People,

I'm extremely new to FG, and although I'm a seasoned veteran in VBScript, Lua is also very new. So I feel like a complete newbie when the first project I undertake grinds to a halt within 2 days.
The goal was very simple, but apparently not easy to achieve. I want to add a tab to the character sheet. I already noticed you have to change a lot of files to do this, but I can't get it to work. Here's what I did:

Created a new icon for the tab
Added the icon to graphics.xml
Added a subwindow key under sheetdata in charsheet_toplevel.xml
Added a tab key under sheetdata/tabcontrol in character_toplevel.xml
Resized charsheet.png
Added a tab to tabs.png
Modified the height in all charsheet_<tab> windowclass/placement/size character_<tab>.xml

The icon with the tab name appears in the right place, and when I click it my extra tab opens, but I'm left with two graphical problems:

The character sheet does not seem to have changed in size at all.
The label of the new tab doesn't look like it should, it looks like it's on the same tab as the one above it, but when I click it, I do see the corners change.

I hope someone can help!

Hamish

Dachannien
June 13th, 2007, 22:31
If you could post the relevant sections of code, there are several people here who would be happy to take a look. :)

Foen
June 14th, 2007, 07:28
I'd be happy to look at your code when you post it, but one thing leaps immediately to mind: you don't need to add a tab to tabs.png, and shouldn't really do so (it causes the distortion you are seeing). The tabs are extended by FGII repeating the middle section multiple times and 'topping' and 'tailing' the image using the tabs at the top and bottom.

The definition of this is in graphics_frames.xml:

<framedef name="tabs">
<bitmap file="frames/tabs.png" />
<topleft rect="0,0,18,13" />
<topright rect="0,0,0,0" />
<left rect="0,13,18,455" />
<bottomleft rect="0,468,18,24" />