PDA

View Full Version : FG2 won't recognize my module...

Rutherford
June 7th, 2007, 22:57
This is really getting to me, and I'm sure it's my own noob fault, but any help would be much appreciated!

I copied and unzipped an existing module to see how it was all put together, then cleaned it out and put in my own content, checking the xml carefully to make sure I made all the necessary changes, etc. I renamed it, repacked it to a .mod, and plopped it into the modules folder...and nothing. It doesn't show up in the module list in FG2.

I've checked my xml against another nearly identically structured mod file, and I don't see any reason why that one works and mine doesn't. (Granted, I'm a noob at this.) So what am I missing? :confused:

If you need any info from me to help answer this problem, just let me know and you'll get it.

sloejack
June 7th, 2007, 23:46
check your definition.xml and make sure you updated that as well.

Rutherford
June 7th, 2007, 23:56
I just double checked and I think I did...but maybe I'm misunderstanding.

The line from client.xml:

<name type="string">NAMEHERE</name>
has to match this line from definition.xml:

<name>NAMEHERE</name>
right?

The rest of it seems pretty mundane...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<root version="2.00">
<name>NAMEHERE</name>
<ruleset>d20</ruleset>
<author>MYNAME</author>
</root>

ldyparadox99
June 8th, 2007, 02:07
Make sure that you renamed your rule-set in the base.xml as well as the d20_export.xml (ie YOURNAME_export.xml) to match whatever you're calling your module.

For example my ruleset is called eqd20 so in the base.xml file I put and "eq" infront of anything that had "d20" and renamed the export file to "eqd20_export.xml"

Toadwart
June 8th, 2007, 02:15
Also check that when you 'pack it back up' you aren't creating a subfolder within your .mod.