PDA

View Full Version : Issue with contentframe



Blackfoot
November 21st, 2020, 15:37
So.. I'm having an issue in my HERO ruleset with the CoreRPG control 'contentframe' with one of the more recent updates.. (I assume 3.3.12A)

Ruleset Error: window: Control(content) anchoring to an undefined control (contentframe) in windowclass (ref_disad)

FG seems to be no longer able to find that control, I'm inheriting it from template_ref.xml.. and it seems to be there under frame_ref_content .. and I didn't change anything on my end... so.. I'm kinda confused as to what changed and why it's broken.

Trenloe
November 21st, 2020, 21:07
Moved to the Workshop forum from the Laboratory forum (which is for reporting problems with the latest public test version of FG).

Moon Wizard
November 21st, 2020, 22:39
Try naming the control outside the template in the window class; and verifying that the "contentframe" control exists in the window class definition.

Regards,
JPG

Blackfoot
November 21st, 2020, 23:38
Try naming the control outside the template in the window class; and verifying that the "contentframe" control exists in the window class definition.
I'm afraid that I don't really understand how to do that.. I haven't really been puttering with this stuff for a while and it's all sorta eluding me.

I don't understand why this suddenly stopped working .. it's been working fine right along. The structures are all inherited from CoreRPG for the most part.. and it appears that 3.5, for example, is still doing it the same way.
I'm just trying to figure out which piece related to this changed.

<template name="frame_ref_content">
<genericcontrol name="contentframe">
<anchored>

<top parent="header" anchor="bottom" offset="15" />
<left offset="35" />
<right offset="-40" />
<bottom offset="-35" />
</anchored>
<frame name="groupbox" offset="15,15,20,15" />
<disabled />
</genericcontrol>
</template>

Moon Wizard
November 22nd, 2020, 00:26
Where the "frame_ref_content" is used, try setting the name there. (i.e. name="contentframe") Don't assume it's being picked up from template.

Regards,
JPG

Blackfoot
November 22nd, 2020, 12:48
OK.. tried that.. but that didn't fix the problem.. and honestly.. that's not the way it's being done in 3.5 upon which my code is based... in 3.5 it looks exactly the same as mine. Hrm. The only difference in this specific code is my subwindow template code... which has some resizing elements.
I'm thinking the issue is related to something else that has changed... especially since this code hasn't changed in CoreRPG in a long long time.

Moon Wizard
November 22nd, 2020, 17:45
If the anchoring message appears, then the control that is anchoring to contentframe is either defined before the contentframe (and thus can't anchor to something not defined yet); or contentframe did not get created for some reason (but I would expect a different error, if so).

Perhaps the way you are overriding the controls is making the new controls be inserted prior to the contentframe?

Regards,
JPG

Blackfoot
November 22nd, 2020, 18:04
I tried commenting out my version of the sub window.. that had no effect.. even with the change to add the contentframe name to the frame... even though 3.5 doesn't do that.
This error hoses all my windows on character sheets.. skills, abilities, weapons, spells... all of which are pretty much set up like the ones in 3.5.
The main issue here is what changed... all of this was working last month.

Moon Wizard
November 22nd, 2020, 18:08
FGC had a small update; but the client changes were super-minimal and nothing that affected definition or layout. So, I don't think it's a client change issue.

Try commenting out the windowclass overrides completely, then adding back in one by one.

Regards,
JPG

Blackfoot
November 22nd, 2020, 18:23
I don't see how that can be.
Like I said.. it was working and I changed nothing.

Moon Wizard
November 22nd, 2020, 20:21
I wouldn't know without being able to look at the problem code. I can try looking at the ruleset code; or you can make an extension for CoreRPG that only changes the one window.

Regards,
JPG

Blackfoot
November 22nd, 2020, 20:23
With darrenan's help we've managed to solve it, although I'm still not sure why it suddenly became a problem with this release. For some reason it was using the CoreRPG code for sub_ref_content instead of my replacement code... and mine didn't use contentframe at all... so there be the issue... although not the why.. which.. for the moment will remain a mystery.