PDA

View Full Version : Lost Campaign info

Caratacus
November 19th, 2020, 03:50
Help!
I have been running a Savage Worlds campaign for several months on FG Classic. So far we've completed about ten sessions along with about 50 hours of prep, NPCs, story lines, Encounters, etc. Earlier this week I had a challenge while running a Windows 10 update, and since that point all my NPCs, stories and encounter info have disappeared from just this one campaign. My other FG campaigns are intact. Surely the info would be in my saved files somewhere but I have no idea as to how to identify them and if I do where to re-install or move them.
The kicker is all the time lost, as everything else about the platform has been excellent, so please help me recover these files.

Caratacus

LordEntrails
November 19th, 2020, 05:01
Inside your campaign folder you will have a bunch of 'db.sessions.<date>' files. If you are uncomfortable doing the following, then post a screen shot of your campaign folder with the size and date of the files shown (like below). What you want to do is copy your db.xml file, then copy the latest session file that has a non zero file size and rename it to db.xml, then restart FG and open your campaign. Continue going back in time until you find the one with the data you want to keep.

Granamere
November 19th, 2020, 22:36
Also this might be the wrong time to mention it but you really should make backups of your campaign folders from time to time. You never know if you had a computer or hard drive problem all of it would be lost.

Caratacus
November 20th, 2020, 03:41
Indeed. At my age I should be smarter, or should I say will be smarter going forward. Love this platform, it has kept us going through this extraordinary year.

LordEntrails
November 20th, 2020, 03:53
Ok, so first thing is to turn on the file name extensions, typically View > Options > Show Filename Extensions.
Exit FG
Then copy the db.xml file to db-bad.xml