PDA

View Full Version : Star Wars D6 Ruleset won't appear on the Game list



TheSir83
November 1st, 2020, 19:45
Hey everyone,

I am trying to get the Star Wars RPG D6 to work before I start to mod it for my own purposes but I am not seeing it appear on the game system list on Fantasy Grounds Unity. I am new to FG programming but I don't see what I could be missing. I have fixed an error associated with xml comments but I feel that shouldn't prevent it from appearing right?

Here is where I found the ruleset https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/Ruleset:_Star_Wars_d6

Can anyone point in the right direction?

Moon Wizard
November 1st, 2020, 22:04
That ruleset was built 13 years ago, and has not been updated. In fact, that wiki will be in the process of being shut down and migrated to the new wiki.

I have repackaged the file here without the comments and misplaced XML definition tags so that it loads. However, it still spits out a bunch of errors for things that should be updated for FGU.

Regards,
JPG

TheSir83
November 1st, 2020, 23:03
Oh! This is awesome! Thank you very much!

I will try to go through it and make the updates. Hopefully, it's not too much trouble. haha

Thank you again!

AlkarGreener
December 18th, 2020, 17:47
I just started working on a ruleset the Star Wars Open D6 as well. The first thing I am working on is the wild die. I have it configured as a 2nd d6 on the table that write to chat when a 1 or 6 is rolled currently, and am trying to make it a unique class with its own appearance and functions.

Feel free to reach out if you want to compare notes. My goal is to establish a baseline that has a functional character sheet with dice rolling. After that, I will decide where to go with it.

AlkarGreener
December 20th, 2020, 12:17
I was able to get it!

--[[
Star Wars Open D6 Wild Die
based on https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?35531-Coding-dice-rolls-(actions)-in-CoreRPG
reference: https://fantasygroundsunity.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FGCP/pages/996644944/chatwindow
]]

function onInit() -- // runs when campaign loads
GameSystem.actions["wilddie"] = { bUseModStack = false }; -- define action
ActionsManager.registerResultHandler("wildie", onRoll); -- register action & returned result
Comm.registerSlashHandler("wilddie", processRoll); -- register chat command & function it calls
end

function processRoll(sCommand, sParams) -- // initial function
performRoll(draginfo, rActor, bSecretRoll); -- call performRoll
end

function performRoll(draginfo, rActor, bSecretRoll) -- // roll the die
local rRoll = getRoll(rActor, bSecretRoll); -- obtains roll properties from getRoll
ActionsManager.performAction(draginfo, rActor, rRoll); -- rolls the dice
end

function getRoll(rActor, bSecretRoll) -- // define roll properties
local rRoll = {}; -- initialise a blank rRoll record
rRoll.sType = "wildie";
rRoll.aDice = { "d6" };
rRoll.nMod = 0;
rRoll.sDesc = "Wild Die!";
rRoll.bSecret = bSecretRoll; -- for GM secret rolls
return rRoll;
end

function onRoll(rSource, rTarget, rRoll) -- // return the results
local rMessage = ActionsManager.createActionMessage(rSource, rRoll); -- define message to return
local nTotal = ActionsManager.total(rRoll); -- define the total of the roll
if nTotal == 1 then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [A ONE WAS ROLLED]"; -- report if a 1 is rolled in the message to return
end
if nTotal == 6 then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [A SIX WAS ROLLED]"; -- report is a 6 was rolled in the message to return
processRoll(); -- roll the wild die again
end
Comm.deliverChatMessage(rMessage);
end

Now I need to put a token on the table that calls it with a click and can move on to figuring out how to handle it in game play, e.g. a PC rolls 3d6+2 so 2d6 are normal and 1d6 is the wild die & add 2 to the result.

Thanks again!!