PDA

View Full Version : [extension] Advanced Spell Damage Extension - casting spells at higher level.



bratch9
September 12th, 2020, 19:44
This extension is now on www.dmsguild.com 'Fantasy Grounds Advanced Spell Damage' (https://www.dmsguild.com/product/327397/Fantasy-Grounds-Advanced-Spell-Damage-extension)
My other extensions can be found on www.dmsguild.com 'Bratch Nine' (https://www.dmsguild.com/browse.php?keywords=&author=Bratch+Nine&artist=&pfrom=&pto=)
RULESET : 5E

Just letting people know my extension to allow 'different level' casting is up on dmsguild. The extension adds a casting level box onto the spell header bar, it parses the 'at higher level' data from the spell description and extends the amount of damage/heal lines in the spell. As you change the casting level these are automatically updated on the spell and tool tip, so you can see what is going to be cast as damage/heal amounts. Once you are done with the action, you can 'double click' the spell level selection box to 'tick' off that spell usage. [ Note, not checks are made for valid spell slots available, or if you have slots left to cast... that is upto the player to make sure they actually have the level slot available when they decide on the casting level... ]

I'm going to be looking to add custom effect lines, for the spells that 'need' that sort of thing. I have already extended the effect line so it can roll a different amount of dice in the style of [STR] adds strength bonus value, and pass that evaluated amount onto a target, I'll be working on the 'linkage' between the selected spell level and the effect line next week.

If you have been looking for this type of thing, and/or have some feedback, please let me know.

39296

39295

LordEntrails
September 12th, 2020, 21:01
MOD: Moved to Paid Creations forum :)

bratch9
September 12th, 2020, 22:50
can you also move, https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?59741-extension-Advanced-Weapon-Damage-Extension&p=524192#post524192

as its now on dms guild aswell..

vaughnlannister
October 9th, 2020, 16:57
Hi, I found that Advanced-spell-damage doesn't work for NPC in the combat tracker, when MadNomad's Character Sheet Effects are on would you in the future make the two compatible with each other?

Many Thanks!

https://www.dmsguild.com/product/329736/Fantasy-Grounds-Mad-Nomads-Character-Sheet-Effects-Display

bratch9
October 10th, 2020, 18:27
Hi, I found that Advanced-spell-damage doesn't work for NPC in the combat tracker, when MadNomad's Character Sheet Effects are on would you in the future make the two compatible with each other?

Many Thanks!

https://www.dmsguild.com/product/329736/Fantasy-Grounds-Mad-Nomads-Character-Sheet-Effects-Display

Hi,

I've had a look using spell damage v2.0 with character sheet effects v1.10, and I'm not sure what is supposed to not be working? When I add an npc to combat tracker I can change the cast level and its responds as i'd expect.

Is some thing in the character sheet effects not showing as it should ? ( I dont know the extension, so not 100% what might be missing or not working. )

Can you check with the latest versions, and if you still have an issue, please add an image and some extra description as to what is not working and possible setup so I can check the issue. ( And if needed pass it onto MadNomad.. )

Thanks.

vaughnlannister
October 11th, 2020, 12:11
Hey,

I just did another check.. and I found that it was Advanced Effects https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?40833-5E-Advanced-Effects-(items-npcs-characters)
that was interfering.. I dunno why.. but in the last test Character Effect Sheets wasn't interfering anymore.

I know Celestial's latest version fixed an issue that the amount of spells slots that an NPC could cast.. were missing.

Haven't changed versions for Character Effect Sheets so.. I don't know why.. though

Thanks!

bratch9
October 11th, 2020, 19:10
Hey,

I just did another check.. and I found that it was Advanced Effects https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?40833-5E-Advanced-Effects-(items-npcs-characters)
that was interfering.. I dunno why.. but in the last test Character Effect Sheets wasn't interfering anymore.

I know Celestial's latest version fixed an issue that the amount of spells slots that an NPC could cast.. were missing.

Haven't changed versions for Character Effect Sheets so.. I don't know why.. though

Thanks!

Hi, would you like to check v2.1 as you probably know the advanced effects extension better than I do. But it seems to be displaying the correct spell level up-cast as selected and showing/rolling the effect when added to an npc.

(Dont forget you will probably have to delete the npc off the combat tracker, and re-drag it on.. to allow things to 'update' etc. )

-pete

vaughnlannister
October 12th, 2020, 14:06
Hi Pete :)

Many thanks for making it compatible with Advanced Effects! I was using a version that had a different load order.. 1001, that still wasn't working.. I re-downloaded the version that was on Celestial's page and it all works :D!!!

Again thanks for all the support you give to your extension :)!

bratch9
October 12th, 2020, 14:38
Hi Pete :)

Many thanks for making it compatible with Advanced Effects! I was using a version that had a different load order.. 1001, that still wasn't working.. I re-downloaded the version that was on Celestial's page and it all works :D!!!

Again thanks for all the support you give to your extension :)!

Hi, Glad its working for you..

Yep, its not possible for extensions to 'merge contents of a function', unless the work can be done as a 'pre or post' fix... In both mine and Celestials we do changes inside the middle of the function. So these will not 'normally' merge.

To resolve this I looked at the code add by both extensions and worked out a way to detect advanced effects and then also call this extra function(s) from my extension..

So my extension has to load 'after' for this to work... so if you do move the load order of advanced effects you need to move my advanced spell and my advanced weapon effects after it. ( As I have also done the same sort of patch for weapon effects on the player side to allow my extensions to work with this one.. )

-pete

vaughnlannister
October 13th, 2020, 12:27
Nice that sounds complicated!

Glad it was a familiar problem you dealt with earlier so it was easier for you to implement a fix :)!

Ludd_G
October 14th, 2020, 14:18
Hi Bratch9,

I'm using Diablobobs DM Tools to pre-place tokens for spells to target etc. but when I reparse a spell to use your 'casting at higher level' functionality (which works great by the way, great stuff!) it kills the token line for the spell. Am I doing something wrong or is there a work a round to be able to use both of these functions at the same time?

Cheers,

Simon

I think this is sorted by just repopulating the spell rather than reparsing an existing version, fingers crossed!

bratch9
October 14th, 2020, 19:43
Hi Bratch9,

I'm using Diablobobs DM Tools to pre-place tokens for spells to target etc. but when I reparse a spell to use your 'casting at higher level' functionality (which works great by the way, great stuff!) it kills the token line for the spell. Am I doing something wrong or is there a work a round to be able to use both of these functions at the same time?

Cheers,

Simon

I think this is sorted by just repopulating the spell rather than reparsing an existing version, fingers crossed!

Hi Simon,

I've added an option menu item to v2.2 that is defaulted off, that will only remove the 'damage/heal/cast/effect' action lines... so when enabled it should 'keep' the 'spell token' action line during the re-parse.

Note.. this can and will still break Rob2e spells effects, as these spells have custom 'damage/heal/cast/effect' lines during a re-parse... But my extension does patch in as best it can the extra lvl data on Rob2e spells when dropped onto character sheet and should keep the pre-defined spell token info. ( Just not on a re-parse.. )

But it sounds like you have been adding extra spell tokens to normal spells, and you want to keep these, which this option should.. ( Assuming you are not also editing action lines for the spell, which will be reset back to standard spell lines on re-parse.. )

Let me know if this goes well or not as you expected. ( If not as expected, can you attach an example screen shot or small campaign zip and some extra details, so I can take a specific look at what you need. )

-pete

Ludd_G
October 14th, 2020, 20:11
Thanks Pete,

I'll grab the new version and do some testing. Fingers crossed.

Cheers,

Simon

vaughnlannister
October 15th, 2020, 16:11
Hi Pete,

I looked closely in the option menu but couldn't find your new added option, could you help, by sending a screenshot :)

As blind as a bat :p

Thanks!

-Updated to v2.2
Added 'option menu' item to enable 'keep spell token' from 'Critically Awesome Essentials' extension

bratch9
October 15th, 2020, 16:57
Hi Pete,

I looked closely in the option menu but couldn't find your new added option, could you help, by sending a screenshot :)

As blind as a bat :p

Thanks!

-Updated to v2.2
Added 'option menu' item to enable 'keep spell token' from 'Critically Awesome Essentials' extension

see attached... hope this helps. ( Its from v2.2a but that fixes a different issue... but maybe update to this aswell. )

vaughnlannister
October 15th, 2020, 17:38
Thanks :D!!! Found it, I just updated Advanced Spell damage and had to re-enable the extension :P , that was why I couldn't find it lol

bratch9
October 15th, 2020, 17:41
Thanks :D!!! Found it, I just updated Advanced Spell damage and had to re-enable the extension :P , that was why I couldn't find it lol

Well not enabled would make it hard to find !!

let me know if its working as expected.

vaughnlannister
October 15th, 2020, 20:39
Thanks, I've finally gotten further in my LMoP campaign, and we've started to use your other extension Advanced Weapon Damage :D, its so cool, I used the power option, to add the Shillelagh effect to a staff, helps to clean up the Action Tab a bit that way. My group has just found the Hew axes :p, only a pity that twig blights only have 4hp :(, but its still really cool what effects you can add to weapons in this way!

bratch9
October 15th, 2020, 21:51
Thanks, I've finally gotten further in my LMoP campaign, and we've started to use your other extension Advanced Weapon Damage :D, its so cool, I used the power option, to add the Shillelagh effect to a staff, helps to clean up the Action Tab a bit that way. My group has just found the Hew axes :p, only a pity that twig blights only have 4hp :(, but its still really cool what effects you can add to weapons in this way!

Yep, also hew is part of the samples in adv weapon, I'm sure you have seen already. LMoP was the first fantasy grounds our group ran and inspired the adv weapon mod... due to not wanting to have many 'effect' active to manage in the CT.

I do need to add more samples for adv weapon, but adv spell needed my time to get to a good feature level.

If you have suggestions/feedback for either extension just let me know. ( and/or add them to dmsguild against the extension... reviews and stars are good too... I'm told !! )

I'm glad others are getting use out of them, our group is just wrapping up CoS and then we are looking at Starfinder dead suns.. So I might look into extensions for starfinder, which seem a bit slim on the ground...

vaughnlannister
October 15th, 2020, 22:19
Sure, I will I'm just starting to play around with them :p. I know this has been suggested.. but thought it worth suggesting again, if you could add automation to check off spell slots, when a player cast a spell, that would be awesome :D!! My players never do it themselves, other then that it looks pretty solid to me, I haven't run into other things I would want it to do for me yet, but I'm quite new to FGs and DnD :).

bratch9
October 16th, 2020, 11:57
Sure, I will I'm just starting to play around with them :p. I know this has been suggested.. but thought it worth suggesting again, if you could add automation to check off spell slots, when a player cast a spell, that would be awesome :D!! My players never do it themselves, other then that it looks pretty solid to me, I haven't run into other things I would want it to do for me yet, but I'm quite new to FGs and DnD :).

You can double click the up-casting box to tick off the spell level on the character sheet.. How does this not do this ?


And in more detail of my thoughts,

As it stands a spell could have multiple action lines, some are used most of the time, some are optional or depend on results.. So its not possible to say 'mark off' parts of the spell as its used and then once all parts are marked off to then 'tick off a spell' as done. That would require fully path flowing every spell and tracking the stages and steps, need loads of pop ups for things like 'target selections' and rolls etc...

To properly automate a spell tick off, would require fundamental structure at fantasy grounds program level, and this to then be added to every module for every spell. Its not something that is viable as an external extension, due to the fact 'every spell' would then be requested for that data as the extension (my) responsibility. Which is thousand(s) of spells to look after and manage at the whim of anybody wanting to make up a spell and request it work with the extension.

Fantasy grounds 'helps' automate many things, but its not a game that has a known structure and feature set and hence can not be automated to the likes of say final fantasy.

As an example, can you list what a 'player' would do to say 'cast magic missile' in terms of button presses/selections and how and when this would then 'automatically ticked off the spell slot'

( Yes I know this is not your direct suggestion, but can you give it some thought and put some words down as to 'how' you think this would work at a player interaction level... )

From what I can see '5e spell automation' basically uses the left side 'icon' of the spell to tick off the spell, it runs all the actions... which then 'breaks' a lot of spells... For example 'chromatic orb' will roll the ranged 'attack' cast and on a hit it will then roll the 3d8 damage for 'acid', and 3d8 'cold', and 3d8 'fire', and 3d8 'lightning', and 3d8 'poison', and 3d8 'thunder'... ( And if the spell also has effect actions it will run all those even if only some should apply.. ), for magic missile it only rolls one 1d4+1 damage instead of 3 of these or more at higher level and again no 'target' selections etc...

Hence this is why I say 'automation' of spells does not work. You would have to know that only one of the damage lines need to be run for chromatic orb... you need to pop up to ask the player which damage type etc... and magic missile needs target pop ups as you could and should roll each dart against a creature ( which might die ) and select the next target etc...

This is just 2 examples of simple spells, more complex flow exists in other spells.

Does this clear up the reason why automated spell just does not work, without it been fundamental to fantasy grounds and it 'forcing' flow structure to be built into every spell. ( which modules would then have to add/support to add new spells etc.. )

-pete

Ludd_G
October 16th, 2020, 16:17
Hi Pete,

just to let you know I've been testing with the most recent version and so far things are working well. Thanks for all your work.

Cheers,

Simon

vaughnlannister
October 16th, 2020, 19:48
Hi Pete,

I was thinking if similar implementation could be used as for the "Use Up Power" https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?43198-5E-Use-Up-Powers-extension

Fantasy grounds already can make a distinction between, power, cantrips and spells (see images). 4025640257.
Maybe full coverage of spell slot tracking would be difficult, but I was wondering if, a spell cast when pressed, then could automatically check the upcast from your window --> then mark of the lvl of the spell slot.

For Damage (magic missile), Heal or spells effect, maybe it would be possible to add an effect line that could be tied into this mark of, for spell slots in a similar way as described above. Players would have to add this effects line themselves to spell that they want to have automation for.

Another idea would be to track the symbols of the spells used for casting in the chat.
That are used in the Rob2e Spell Effects codings.
(Mattekure chat triggers uses this for sounds)

(60) - Range - this will be a range in feet 30, 60, 90, etc.
(S) - Self - sometimes listed with a corresponding range
(T) Touch
(C) Concentration
(B) Bonus Action
(R) Reaction
(RIT) Ritual
($) Component cost

So I was hoping that a button press for a cast, effect or DMG/Heal from a spell could be linked to mark of the spells.
I don't know if this would be achievable.. I'm not an expert in coding.. but maybe it could help spark an idea, or could be interpreted from your perspective if this would be possible to do?

Many thanks for your openness to feedback!

Vaughn

bratch9
October 16th, 2020, 23:55
Hi Pete,

I was thinking if similar implementation could be used as for the "Use Up Power" https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?43198-5E-Use-Up-Powers-extension

Fantasy grounds already can make a distinction between, power, cantrips and spells (see images). 4025640257.
Maybe full coverage of spell slot tracking would be difficult, but I was wondering if, a spell cast when pressed, then could automatically check the upcast from your window --> then mark of the lvl of the spell slot.

For Damage (magic missile), Heal or spells effect, maybe it would be possible to add an effect line that could be tied into this mark of, for spell slots in a similar way as described above. Players would have to add this effects line themselves to spell that they want to have automation for.

Another idea would be to track the symbols of the spells used for casting in the chat.
That are used in the Rob2e Spell Effects codings.
(Mattekure chat triggers uses this for sounds)

(60) - Range - this will be a range in feet 30, 60, 90, etc.
(S) - Self - sometimes listed with a corresponding range
(T) Touch
(C) Concentration
(B) Bonus Action
(R) Reaction
(RIT) Ritual
($) Component cost

So I was hoping that a button press for a cast, effect or DMG/Heal from a spell could be linked to mark of the spells.
I don't know if this would be achievable.. I'm not an expert in coding.. but maybe it could help spark an idea, or could be interpreted from your perspective if this would be possible to do?

Many thanks for your openness to feedback!

Vaughn

Well if you double click my upcast level box it already marks off the spell at the top of the character sheet...

Yes I understand and know about usages and the like, I use these sorts of tick off for my characters lay on hands...

You could also probably understand I know a lot about how the spell system works from the rule set source code, I've made changes in nearly every part of the spell parsing code.. ( And weapons, and effects, from my other extensions.. )

Its not that its impossible to do what you want, and the above information you suggest is nothing close to the data you would need to make a quality solution. Yes I could hack some bodge together, and force players to 'hand code' effects and drag those about as you suggest... but the reality is I think that would be worse than the current system.

Fantasy grounds, just is not design to automate fully, it would need a fundamental change to make a nice reliable system that users new->experienced could actually use. ( Yes I'm sure some of the long term users will put up with a lot.. )

The reality of a system, I think, you are suggesting would require significant work in the spell,effects,character,npc,combat track and probably even the image system for the likes of LoS data.

While you are thinking about it from the player side, the reality is you also need to think about how this links back to the dm's/npc/ct side due to how the rule set code is designed and written.

Its just not something I think is workable from my extension side, and/or the time and effort I feel it would take to implement in a system I would be happy to release to the public. ( And I don't see any real use for it, because I feel you would still need to have player interactions for it to progress over the stages of the spell cast... I don't see what it would 'save' for a player/dm.. )

Its clear I probably have a different view on what you are suggesting, but I dont see a way to automate spell casting without the need for interacting with the player/dm. ( Yes I'm sure 'some' of the simple spell would work, but I'm not interesting in a solution for 'some' of the spell. Maybe I just have a high quality requirement that I just dont see as possible.. I will let it mull-around in my thoughts, but I just dont see a viable solution at the moment. )

-pete

vaughnlannister
October 17th, 2020, 10:54
It's fine.. :)
In an ideal world.. where anything was possible.. this would be how I hoped it could work.
Its ok.. its still great.. and people are just gonna have to learn to double click the upcast when they use a spell or remember how many spells they have left ;)

Vaughn

vaughnlannister
October 22nd, 2020, 11:03
Hi, I noticed that if that an upcast for a spell that is placed in a different group like Druid, your unable to upcast to a higher lvl spell, would that be a feature you would add in the future?

40409

Thanks!

bratch9
October 22nd, 2020, 14:42
Hi, I noticed that if that an upcast for a spell that is placed in a different group like Druid, your unable to upcast to a higher lvl spell, would that be a feature you would add in the future?

40409

Thanks!

I had a quick look, and it seems from my testing and the look of your screen shot.... that you have these items configured in the 'actions' section and not in the 'spells' section.

Can you confirm you have these assigned to an 'action' section... ( check the meta data... )

'Actions' can group multiple spells at different levels into a group, because the full group is considered at level 0 by the rule set.

I also suspect that the rule set does other different things in the process of 'actions'.

( I'd not use actions for spells, but I understand why you have the druid ability in this section as to use the 'number' per day section etc.. )

I'll take a better look when I have some time, but the extension was not designed to consider 'actions' as 'spell' items... as the rule set splits these in the code so I have to look at that 'why' before I can even look as a solution...

vaughnlannister
October 22nd, 2020, 15:37
Hi yes!

I have these assigned in the action section indeed! Where you are able to assign how many daily uses, or uses per long rest for powers.

Thanks! Hopefully we might see this in the future!

bratch9
October 22nd, 2020, 17:15
Hi yes!

I have these assigned in the action section indeed! Where you are able to assign how many daily uses, or uses per long rest for powers.

Thanks! Hopefully we might see this in the future!

Updated in v2.4 for you..

Let me know if this causes any unknown issues, as I'm not sure if the rule set code might have issues. ( It does not seem to, but I only checked a few spells etc.. )

-pete

vaughnlannister
October 22nd, 2020, 17:39
Awesome it works :D!!!!

Thank you!!!

vaughnlannister
October 23rd, 2020, 10:45
Hi Pete, though up-cast on actions works great! It interferes with a token swap from Critically Awesome Essential One Click Druid .. though only for new added wild shapes when Advanced Spell Damage is turned on.

The effects are still applied on the PC.. though the token swap does not occur.

Thank you, would appreciate if you might be able to resolve this in a future update!

40442

bratch9
October 23rd, 2020, 18:30
Hi Pete, though up-cast on actions works great! It interferes with a token swap from Critically Awesome Essential One Click Druid .. though only for new added wild shapes when Advanced Spell Damage is turned on.

The effects are still applied on the PC.. though the token swap does not occur.

Thank you, would appreciate if you might be able to resolve this in a future update!

40442

Hi,

I'll probably take a look at this on sunday, work was busy today so I did not get time.

-pete

bratch9
October 23rd, 2020, 18:52
Hi Pete, though up-cast on actions works great! It interferes with a token swap from Critically Awesome Essential One Click Druid .. though only for new added wild shapes when Advanced Spell Damage is turned on.

The effects are still applied on the PC.. though the token swap does not occur.

Thank you, would appreciate if you might be able to resolve this in a future update!

40442

Ok, got 5 mins to have a go at reproduction....

looks like with my extension added the name ends up with a ':' instead of a ';'..

just edit the effect line to say 'wildshape;' instead of 'wildshape:'

I'll take a look when I get chance..

( Let me know if the quick edit, sorts out a temp fix for you.. )

-pete

vaughnlannister
October 23rd, 2020, 18:53
Great :) , no worries!

Thank you!

vaughnlannister
October 23rd, 2020, 19:00
Ok, got 5 mins to have a go at reproduction....

looks like with my extension added the name ends up with a ':' instead of a ';'..

just edit the effect line to say 'wildshape;' instead of 'wildshape:'

I'll take a look when I get chance..

( Let me know if the quick edit, sorts out a temp fix for you.. )

-pete

Indeed that fixed it :D!!!

Thank you!!

bratch9
October 23rd, 2020, 20:12
Indeed that fixed it :D!!!

Thank you!!

v2.5 should now spot the types used in the effects...

let me know if any of the heal/wild/poly etc... fail.

-pete

vaughnlannister
October 23rd, 2020, 22:53
Works :)! Many Thanks for implementing such a quick fix!!!

Will do!!