PDA

View Full Version : General UI UX Improvement Suggestions.

thelogicmatrix
September 8th, 2020, 18:42
Hi there, I am a games artist and have a bit of experience in UIUX and general user flow design and I'd like to point out a couple of things that I found to be rather glaring in FGU.

1. Grid Visibility.
The grids use a color picker to determine the color and vilibility of them. THis is adjusted with A which means Alpha. However, the average person will not think that the color will allow them to change the visibility. Make the Alpha slider be accessible from the grid tab, Not inside the color picker.

2. Dice Color
The dice color system is functional but it is rather tedious to get the color you want. Implement the color system from the grid for the dice, for both text and plastic. It will make it a lot more customisable and make the program a lot more cohesive.

3. Assets and Images and Maps
Assets now hold images and maps and you cant use images and maps to import into the new map system. Images and maps is redundant remove it.

4. Importing Images and assets
Make it easier for people to import images into the game, have it allow for drag and drop when the thing is open, and also use file explorer's import to import images rather than the in engine dialogue or the current open the native folder method.

5. Image and asset management
Make it possible for the users to delete stuff in game, most users will not have the technical know how to find the root folder and delete stuff from there

That's it for the main UI UX failings that I caught. Now for some suggestions as to more quality of life upgrades or general issues that I have noticed.

1. Complex dice roll on monster attacks
When I set a ballista to deal 3d6*10 damage, it rolls 3d610 instead.

2. /roll and /r
Either allow the user to change commands or allow /r to be used for rolls, it's what lots of people go to for rolls.

3. Shaders/FX