PDA

View Full Version : Minimal Ruleset for FG II

Irian
April 27th, 2007, 09:01
Hi,

I just started playing around with a new ruleset, seems simple enough, the D20 XML has enough examples to extract most functions. It's nice to modify the D20 ruleset, but I would prefer starting completely from scratch. But every time I try that, FG II crashes, probably because my ruleset is missing something important.

So my question is: What definitions do I need for an absolutly basic ruleset (without any content, fields, templates, scripts, etc.) that FG II will accept?

(Copying the only the base.xml a) doesn't work anymore and b) wouldn't give an empty ruleset anyway :-)

sloejack
April 27th, 2007, 14:55
I posted this in another thread, but so far in terms of a minimal base, working from the d20, you would need to carry over

bmpfonts.xml (you need some font to display your data) though you may be able to get away with a single definition to start and just use it everywhere.

You want the graphics.xml and it's associcated files graphics_frames.xml and graphics_radial.xml (and maybe graphics_portraitsets.xml) since that's what sets up the desktop and allows you to navigate through things.

You need gameelements.xml since that's your dice, portraints, hotkey bar, etc.

Optionally you need desktop.xml and its associated files desktop_templates.xml, desktop_classes.xml, desktop_local.xml, and desktop_panels.xml. You can load the software without this but you'll have no chat interface.

Lastly, you need a <desktopframe></desktopframe> definition or you get some wierd/bad graphical artifacts while trying to use the radial menus. the item specified in that tag is 'desktop' which is defined as the desktop.png in your graphics.xml

Irian
April 27th, 2007, 15:35
Thanks, that helped a lot. I had to add some other files to make some details work, but now I've got a good base to create a new ruleset without having to many "relicts" from D20 in it. Thanks again.

sloejack