PDA

View Full Version : Why is my trying to delete control triggering "No vertical anchor defined"



Varsuuk
August 9th, 2020, 22:35
Runtime Notice: Reloading ruleset
Runtime Notice: s'aMajor: ' | { s'CoreRPG' = #4, s'MoreCore' = #1 } | s' aMinor: ' | { s'CoreRPG' = #0, s'MoreCore' = #58 }
Ruleset Error: window: No vertical anchor defined for control (pc_label_four) in windowclass (charsheet_more)
Ruleset Error: window: No vertical anchor defined for control (attackframe) in windowclass (charsheet_more)






<!-- Label Text is found in /strings/strings_morecore.xml -->
<label_plain name="thac0_label" merge="join">
<anchored to="combatframe" position="insidetopleft" offset="10,91" />
<static textres="thac0_label" />
<tooltip textres="tooltip_thac0" />
</label_plain>

<number_ctlink name="four" merge="delete" />
<string_useredit name="pc_label_four" merge="delete" />
<frame_char_switch_attacks name="attackframe" merge="delete" />

<!-- New Command Line Rolls - reserved for Common Rolls 20160515 -->
<!-- PrimaryAttributes Frame2 by damned -->
<!-- Frame Co-ordinates -->
<frame_char_switch_rolls name="cas2" merge="replace">



And the controls I was trying to delete (EDIT: these are in MoreCore, record_char_more.xml):


<string_useredit name="pc_label_four">
<anchored to="combatframe" position="insidetopleft" offset="10,94" />
<default>C4</default>
<tooltip textres="label_editable" />
</string_useredit>
...
<frame_char_switch_attacks name="attackframe">
<!--<bounds>15,45,-190,120</bounds>-->
<anchored position="insidetopleft" offset="15,0">
<right anchor="center" offset="70" />
<!--<right parent="combatframe" anchor="left" offset="0" />-->
<!--<left anchor="left" offset="15" />-->
<bottom anchor="top" offset="215" />
</anchored>
</frame_char_switch_attacks>



I do not get why it can even REFER to those controls if I have them in my XML as "delete"?
(turns out other thread where claimed to solve by declaring them as "generic_control" was only because that type doesn't exist, if use "generic control" the same problem above exists...)

damned
August 9th, 2020, 23:55
I have never encountered this before Varsuuk.
I delete MoreCore fields all the time with merge="delete"

Code from Top Secret extension for MoreCore


<string_useredit name="pc_label_four" merge="delete" />
<number_ctlink name="five" source="five" merge="delete" />
<string_useredit name="pc_label_five" merge="delete" />
<number_ctlink name="initresult" source="initresult">
<anchored to="combatframe" position="insidetopright" offset="35,91" />
<tooltip textres="pc_tooltip_order" />
</number_ctlink>
<string_useredit name="pc_label_order">
<anchored to="combatframe" position="insidetopleft" offset="10,94" />
<default>Order</default>
<tooltip textres="label_editable" />
</string_useredit>
<frame_char_switch_attacks name="attackframe" merge="delete" />


Ive merge/deleted both those.

Kelrugem
August 10th, 2020, 00:43
Is this in FGU? I have encountered the same problem there, I sometimes need to define some anchor for elements I am just going to delete, I also do not know why I need to do this :) (while in FGC it is fine)

Varsuuk
August 10th, 2020, 02:18
No, this is in FGC. And yeah, I can’t say I “do it all the time”, since still pretty new at working off anything other than Core but I do it in his very file. The “four” control in that trio was not highlighted because it did not have an issue.

I tried to see what it was about either of those controls but I am just not knowledgeable enough to spot it. I hate not knowing though. And of course, it is irksome to say the least to get those errors. I may just have to leave them in and invis/disable em. At least until I get insight.

Varsuuk
August 10th, 2020, 02:19
Is this in FGU? I have encountered the same problem there, I sometimes need to define some anchor for elements I am just going to delete, I also do not know why I need to do this :) (while in FGC it is fine)

Actually, couple days ago when first saw - that’s what I did - I added the anchors. Forgot that. Will do that again. In my first mention of this in another post I mentioned it was weird that it looks at the anchors in something being deleted but hey...

Varsuuk
August 10th, 2020, 04:12
BTW - is merge="replace" - assumed? Meaning, how is it interpreted when nothing is given for a: merge? I assume it makes sense that it replaces it.

If that is correct, then what happens if you add an explicit merge="replace" and the name is not already existing?


EDIT: My "testing" verifies it SEEMs to work the same, but like Felix Ungar, I hate to "assume".

damned
August 10th, 2020, 04:34
Merge rules are defined here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/modguide/templates.xcp
But they dont even mention delete :)

Varsuuk
August 10th, 2020, 05:43
Yeah, I read that. But noticing that it is missing delete, thought maybe stuff changed without update.

What I tested was one of the combat labels. I took wounds label and copied it to my extension with “replace” and no “<default>Wounds</>” in my version.

The result is a blank label.

Then did exact same but removed the merge=“replace” and had same result. Blank label.


That’s what made me ask this question since according to what we both understood no merge= means it is the UNION of both sets of tags.

Did you ever try? Maybe I interpreted results incorrectly.

For example,