PDA

View Full Version : Your set up for combat and encounters

OGvarus
July 20th, 2020, 17:32
So I have been using FG (I am the GM for the group) for ~5-6 months now and becoming more comfortably running my games (5E). I find myself trying to improve session to session with ways to be more efficient during combat/encounters. This would include trying to determine what information I have currently displayed. I have bounced between way too much info on screen causing clutter, to simply not enough. As I refine my "setup" on screen through trial and error and personal preference I thought I would reach out to the community to gather further ideas. I think seeing how others (both GMs and Players) "setup" their screens could be a beneficial topic.

Items I am wondering about: what to you have visible in combat tracker? Do you have have NPC sheets fully up and visible, or just click them when you need them? How much real-estate do you have the map take up on your screen? what options, items, rolls, tables, etc do you have loaded on your quickbar? Overall what does your screen look like when running combat/encounters? What have you found to work well and what have you found to be more of a hindrance?

Also: what have you found to help speed up combat? I am trying to encourage my players to have their targets selected prior to their turn as an example. What do your players/or you as a player have up on screen during combat? do you put all combat rolls in the quickbar or click off your character sheet?

Granamere
July 20th, 2020, 18:50