PDA

View Full Version : Campaign data stored in Dropbox directory?

ChristopherHammock
July 14th, 2020, 19:10
Hey all!

I'm new to FG and jumping directly into Unity since it seems to be the future. I work and play on two different computers, my desktop at home and a laptop at my girlfriend's. I'd like to use a Dropbox folder to store my campaign data, to keep it synched between the computers. I assume this should work just by changing the Data Directory in Settings. However, I wanted to ask around to see if anyone else had tried this before I risk breaking my system. :) Does anyone have any advice on the matter?

Thanks in advance!
Chris

Zacchaeus
July 14th, 2020, 19:14
Hi Christopher, welcome to FG.

It is not recommended that you use any kind of cloud synchronisation since you can lose data if the sync happens whilst FG is being used. You can use Dropbox but just make sure that there isn't any kind of sync going on whilst FG is being used. It's best actually to simply copy the data manually.

superteddy57
July 14th, 2020, 19:16
It's highly recommended to not use a cloud location to store campaign and/or program files as the syncing could corrupt data. I would keep a backup of your data locally to ensure you don't lose your campaign if you do ultimately go down this path.

ChristopherHammock
July 14th, 2020, 19:52
Cool, thanks for the quick feedback, folks. :) That does make sense, though. I'll probably just stick with back ups on a usb drive. :)

superteddy57
July 14th, 2020, 19:59
I've heard of some success with using cloud storage to use it to copy the data to the storage, and then pasting it to the other computer. Just don't want the program to point to the storage.

LordEntrails
July 14th, 2020, 21:19
There is a batch file on the forums here that will zip up your FG data folder and copy it to a cloud shared folder. If of interest and you can't find it, I can probably find it for you :)

TheoGeek
July 16th, 2020, 20:14