PDA

View Full Version : Looking for DMs that want to be a player

The Maheeb
July 2nd, 2020, 19:20
Hello, I've been DMing 5e for 4 years or so. I've enjoy DMing and I don't want to give it up...however, I do miss being a player. So I'm looking to see if anyone wants to do a series of one-shot games where we rotate the DM. We can play other games, but 5e is what I have the most experience. I'm interested in PF2 & StarFinder, but I've not played them so I might be last on the rotation.

I am 36 years old. I have a full time job, wife, child, and going to school. I tend to swear and I'm very laid back. I'm hoping for a group with similar demographics, but that's not a deal breaker. What is a deal breaker for me is anyone that creates a hostile environment for anyone in the group. I want all players/DMs to feel comfortable being themselves without judgement or harassment. This is a game and I want us all to have fun.

I'm mostly free after 7pm Central Time. I should be able to play till midnight.

Hit me up, let me know what you think. I'm open for other games beyond what I've listed here.

DrSky
July 4th, 2020, 15:45
Maheeb,

Count me in! A potential small tweak to your idea is that instead of one-shots, run a homebrew campaign set up in manner that the DM can be alternated. 1-3 sessions for each DM and then transitioned to the next DM. The benefit is a campaign with player character development for all player/DM's, an ongoing saga with all the twists and turns of multiple DM's adding to the story.

2 types of campaigns that I have heard this being done:
1. The group is sailing and getting in adventures on different islands
2. (The one I participated in and actually was the first DM) Planar Adventure with teleportation gates, and the teleportation gates are acting abnormally.

I am sure there are other great ideas that could be figured out...Obviously we need to find a group of DM's flexible enough and get together and determine a high level direction of the story.