PDA

View Full Version : Best way to use map masking?

zogmrbill
June 27th, 2020, 17:57
I’m new to FG Unity. The process of revealing a map seems awkward unless I am doing it wrong. You have to enter mask mode then reveal. Often, u have to be very precise as not to reveal a hidden door.

Then you have to exit mask mode to move tokens around. It all seems a bit clumsy. Am I missing something?

Three of Swords
June 27th, 2020, 18:19
That's how it works. But some suggestions might help:

1. Note that you can unmask with rectangles or free-hand.
2. Free-hand 'finishes' by making a straight line from your current cursor to where you started. This can be useful when doing angles. Start at one end, of the angle, finish at the other, and it'll make a nice line between the two point.
3. If you make your own maps, don't mark secret doors. Keep them 5' apart when possible. Then use secret door tokens to show the door when it's found so you don't have to worry too much about showing it.

Note: I use FGC. So it could be different, but I believe they work the same way.

LordEntrails
June 27th, 2020, 18:27
FGU also has LOS occulders you can use instead or or with Map mode. Those include secret door occuluders which will appear just like a wall to the players until you reveal them.

Note that how you handle this is highly dependent upon how the map was drawn. Older style 'blue-type' maps do not work well since they often have no consideration made for VTT's or directly showing the maps to players. Many of the current cartographers are aware of and accommodate VTT users by having 'player' versions of the maps and by having walls between locations/rooms actually have some thickness to them.

srbongo
June 28th, 2020, 16:50
Many of the current cartographers are aware of and accommodate VTT users by having 'player' versions of the maps and by having walls between locations/rooms actually have some thickness to them.