PDA

View Full Version : Basic Forum Design?

JGawain
June 9th, 2020, 09:33
I am sorry. I really am, but this is a novice level web design. It is mindblowing that no one has brought this up by now.

Issue 1
Basic Forum Navigation

Short story = Friend asked me something about FG I did not know, so we searched and failed to find. Solution = I told him to post a new thread to find out. He responds with "I can't???" As a former forum manager, I could only ask, "What?" So I attempted to log on only to find a long drawn out battle with the Password Recover protocols and an obsolete format for messageboard layouts. It is no wonder he found it obtuse, there are features directly designed to be counter-intuitive.

Everyone is directed to a stream of non-categorized threads. Fine whatever, it's been done, and normally not an issue.
a) Flaw; no obvious link to the actual categories.
b) Fixed; One redundant issue down.
c) Flaw; No New Thread button??? You usually have to do one or the other. Resolve issue A or C.
d) Epic Flaw; Help on posting a thread instructs users to use bold, italic, etc. Wow, unuseful and it doesn't even answer the question. This is just sloppy.

Suggestions;
a) Good; Place a link under the forum tabs called "Post Threads, Thread Categories," or anything to that effect. Something to lead the user to the forum category section where they can actually post a thread. Refer to suggestion C.
b) Excellent; Reading the words (New Posts) can be interpreted as creating a "new thread." Retitled the page (Recent Posts)
c) Good; Place a "New Thread" button on your streaming page and link it to a "General" category on your forum home page. This will at least get new users started. Never should a new user have to search for this button as it effectively prevents them from resolving a forum issue.