PDA

View Full Version : Which ruleset for my SciFi campaign?

Berndout
May 22nd, 2020, 12:17
Hi all,

I am preparing a SciFi campaign and want to play it on fantasygrounds.

Which ruleset/system do you suggest?

The challenge with my campaign is that it changes its tone. There are 4 different phases which have different gameplay elements. Also I am new to FG. A smooth fg integration would be nice.

Basic storyline: The earth is on the brink of extinction and humanity sends several arche like spaceships on a journey to find a new home.

Phase 1 (start): Players are professionals (scientists, engineers, military, politicans, etc) based on 21st century careers. Most tasks are based on these careers. Not much combat, maybe some fist brawls.

Phase 2 (horror): Technology failure, insanity, mutiny and survival are major elements in this phase. Tone similar to event horizon or pandorum. Some kind of morale system would be nice.

Phase 3 (exploration): Relatively common scifi exploration. Visit strange planets, meet (lower) alien forms, etc.

Phase 4 (high SciFi): Eventually the players will meet advanced alien forms and with it a huge cosmic imperium where they have to find a place for humanity among many other intelligent alien races. Similar to star trek or star wars, depending on players interests (technology scifi vs fantasy scifi)

What rulesets/systems would you suggest and why? Which works well on FG?

Thanks!

LordEntrails
May 22nd, 2020, 16:50
*shrugs* I don't think the phases have much to do with picking a ruleset. Do you want something with lots of little bits? (rules heavy, lots of options, involved character creation) Or are you looking for something more cinematic? (Rolls don't have a modifier for everything, character creation is quicker and focused on story.)