PDA

View Full Version : Treasure, loot and economy

Milmoor
May 21st, 2020, 21:35
I’m rather new to 5E. I used to play with a homebrew system, in a homebrew world. Low Fantasy, magic does exists, quite a bit even, but the players hardly ever get magic items or other loot. More of neglect and convenience than on purpose. My economy mostly isn’t, the system didn’t have long lists of items and that just was not an issue.
Switched to 5E, got a few new players and now they want fat lootz! I’m ok with that in principle, but finding some guidance on how is hard. I reward mostly playtime/adventures, not just killing things. Adventure Leage has a treasure point system, but that didn’t appeal. They want shiny coins. How to solve this? I don’t mind distributing/adjusting a bit to fit the theme, but really don’t want to look into the gritty details. Any suggestions?

Economy in the title perhaps should have been laziness;)

Griogre
May 21st, 2020, 22:24
The 5E DMG has a bunch of shiny treasure tables by level tier. There's two basic types: incidental and hoard. Basically you can give incidental treasure per encounter if it makes sense - it's like pocket change. Then give a "boss" type a hoard treasure type once per level as that level's major haul. The hoard treasure doesn't really have to come from a monster it can be quest rewards, ect.

LordEntrails
May 22nd, 2020, 00:02
So, 5E is predicated on few magic items for combat balance. If you limit the availability of magic items for purchase (i.e. no magic item shops, only scrolls under level 6 and uncommon potions for sale) and are careful handing out anything more than +1 weapons and armor, you can give them as much money as you want will little harm.