PDA

View Full Version : Pirates of Drinax

jp1971
May 21st, 2020, 13:39
Hi all,

I'm loving the MGT2 ruleset. I just wrapped up Marooned on Marduk with my group last night.

Is anyone using Fantasy Grounds to run Pirates of Drinax? If so, would you mind sharing some pointers?

I'm new to Fantasy Grounds, but my understanding is that I could start a new campaign with the MGT2 ruleset and add story entries, NPCs, images, etc. as we go along.

Looking forward to any pointers you guys share.

Thanks!
Jameson

backwardoracle
May 21st, 2020, 16:08
The first thing its huge, really huge, your players can easily get sidetracked, and there are plenty of opportunities to do so.

You'll need dozens possibly hundreds of extra NPC's, put them in manageable chunks though, and maps lots & lots of lovely maps.

Make sure your crew can handle the main jobs on the Harrier, don't let them have too much stuff especially in the way of armour. Diplomacy is quite important try to get a "Face" among the pc crew. Really really flesh out the Allies, contacts etc. as these can be quite important. encourage you players to come up with various schemes to achieve goals, this will save you a lot of effort as to what the players actually want to do.

Adventure one, is pretty straightforward, but can have various consequences down the line & there are plenty of NPC's to interact with. encourage your PC's to think about this. Actions have consequences!

There is more so much more to this. I'd advise starting them off subsector (Sindal) and work out from there, Adventure one helps with this.

Ship combat can be avoided for the first adventure, so you can wait a bit till thats added (Coming soon) as its a straightforward (ish) chase.

Check the resources list for lots of things that will help you. I'm positive more will be added.

I've kept this brief as I know several of my players are on this forum.

you can drop me a line with any specific (spoiler) questions I'll gladly help

cheers

MadBeardMan