PDA

View Full Version : Potential Interested Buyer / D20 Newbie with possibly very stupid questions.

Roastbeef
May 13th, 2020, 23:00
Greetings everyone and thank you in advance for enduring the following stupid questions!

I am very much interested in purchasing Fantasy Grounds because I have little to no experience with any D20 systems and I figure having this system would aid me in coming to grips with the D20 mechanics. Sure, reading through the books is one thing, but unless you actually play and go through the steps / phases it's not immediately intuitive with regards to what comes in play and when.

For the record, I am more interested in Pathfinder 1 and 2 as I feel these systems allow for the most customization when it comes to character creation (I am willing to suffer and learn the more complex system because as a player and potential GM - DM, I would rather have a system that is more complex).
Probably 1st edition because there is just a ton of released material that players and GMs alike can draw from in their campaigns. I am looking at second edition, but I would rather wait until a few more books and supplements come out to have the game feel more rounded in terms of options and the like.

1) I guess that my first question is whether or not Fantasy Grounds can be used as an automated system that would guide a beginner through most of the phases and steps of the game (especially when it comes to combat). I understand (from videos I've been through on youtube and from user explanations I've read through) that the system doesn't automatically run the system for you and requires prompts and inputs from the DM or players to go along with the various phases of the game. Nonetheless, I feel that this is a good tool to practice combat and getting accustomed to the different phases of combat, other rules and when to roll and why to roll.