PDA

View Full Version : How to replace a built in script or modify it

rmilmine
May 9th, 2020, 22:58
How would I go about replacing a script without completely replacing the xml/lua files.
I want to make the damage section of the item window show up for shields, and I don't want to replace the entire xml file to do so.
I use other extensions that add fields to items so I don't want to break them.
I'm new to this so still figuring out how to do things.

Thanks.

damned
May 10th, 2020, 04:47
you start talking about xml/lua and then reference only xml but your topic is about a script (lua)

use merge="join" or merge="replace" in xml

rmilmine
May 10th, 2020, 07:31
so if I use merge join in the xml doing
<script file="my name.lua"/> can I name functions by the same name replacing them, or how do I go about ensuring my script gets called after the original one is?
So that I can make something normaly not visible is visible?

damned
May 10th, 2020, 11:09
You can merge against any xml element that is named. If its not named (it probably should be) then you cant merge against it.
Rulesets load before extensions.
Extensions load somewhat randomly unless you set a load order.

rmilmine
May 10th, 2020, 13:43
So I could instead of putting merge="join" in the windowclass I could put <script merge="replace" file="myfile.lua" /> to replace just that part of the windowclass?

Thanks.
I'll try that out.

rmilmine
May 10th, 2020, 14:26
bah, misread that, since the <script> isn't named it can't be replaced? or is this only for template and windowclass elements?

damned
May 10th, 2020, 14:37
Example:

<template name="chatwindow_step" merge="join">
<chatwindow name="chat" merge="join">
<modeframe mode="damned" name="chatframe_spell" offset="20,11,20,9" mergerule="replace" />
<modeframe mode="chat" name="chatframe_chat" offset="15,5,5,5" mergerule="replace" />
<modeframe mode="story" name="chatframe_story" offset="15,10,15,10" mergerule="replace" />