PDA

View Full Version : LOS occluders - sensible amount of nodes per entity

seycyrus
May 8th, 2020, 04:40
Maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree here, and if so, I apologize. Please set me straight.

I just started a thread over at the profantasy CC3+ forums regarding some method of automatically generating occluders and such for an exported map. I was wondering about symbols such as trees etc. - Basically things that aren't walls which I think are more straightforward to handle(could be wrong).

If I understand it correctly, there is a way to set up a macro to use a command to trace every tree (for example). I have never used the command in question before today, but I gave it a test on one tree and it created a polygon with 71 nodes. Now I think that is FAR too many, right? Especially if you are going to have a dozen trees or so... right? If that is indeed the case, what would be a practical amount of nodes to have per polygon?

LordEntrails
May 8th, 2020, 06:29
How big is the tree? I think of it this way, in general LOS is to determine vision between 5 foot squares. So if you are placing ten or twenty nodes per foot... you are way over doing it. Such detail just won't matter.

So, a tree with a 5' radius (10x10ft square) has a circumference of about 30ft. So, 30 nodes would be highly detailed compared to 5 feet. Also remember that a tree does block zero then 100%, yet an includer is going to do that, so you probably want the occluders somewhere inside the foliage extents. Thinking about it, an octagon (8 nodes) would probably be just fine for a 10 ft square 'tree'.

Zacchaeus
May 8th, 2020, 09:23
Before you start worrying about the number of nodes; how are you going to get FG to recognise your polygon?

seycyrus
May 8th, 2020, 13:51
@Zacchaeus You seem to be implying that having my horse push the wagon is not the most efficient method :)