PDA

View Full Version : A Few (Infrequently?) Asked Questions About FG

Randolin
May 2nd, 2020, 10:50
Hi folks. Hopefully I'm not bothering anyone with obvious questions, but I didn't see these answered in the FAQ or in the first few pages of posts.

I'm looking at picking up FGUnity for a campaign I'm about to start with some friends and family. I don't have any FG products yet. I have lots of experience with Roll20 and Tabletop Simulator.

If I own the Ultimate edition and the rest of my crew is using the Free version, do I have to be the one who GMs or can I host a server and hand over the wheel? One of the other players wants to run this specific campaign, but I'm the one with the money and would rather buy it for my own use later. He'd just as soon use Roll20, but I was looking for an upgrade as long as I can facilitate the rest of the players without their buy-in.

If I buy the current, non-Steam FGU version will I be eligible for a Steam code later with my same license? I use Steam all the time and I'd really like to have it in my collection, along with DLC store and Workshop and friends lists, etc. But I'm not interested in FGClassic, and I'm similarly not interested in waiting an indeterminate amount of time for the Steam release. We're probably starting our campaign within a week or so, and if I don't convince people to start with FG then that ship will probably sail. I suppose I could just pay for a month subscription to get started off Steam, but.. Just seems like wasted money if I'm ready to buy the whole thing.