PDA

View Full Version : How can I keep unidentified weapons a mystery to players?

Sterno
April 27th, 2020, 13:34
I'm very new to Fantasy Grounds, and have only used the 2E ruleset. I've been trying to understand how identified vs unidentified items work.

It seems to work great if you want to give players something like gems or jewels. I can grab from the DMG items something like "Gem [500 gp]", slap it into my parcel, and then give it an unidentified name of something like "tiger's eye gem" and mark it as unidentified. Players will see the type of gem, but not the value. Great!

This same sort of thing doesn't seem to work for weapons, though, unless I'm missing a step for those. I can give them an unidentified Axe +2 and it will show up in the parcel as "axe", for instance, but they can click on it to bring up details and see that it has the "Magic" subtype, and then click on the "Weapons" tab of the item to see the unidentified name.

Similarly, you can go to the character's "actions" tabs, and there it does at least mask the name of the item, though it can still be pretty clear from the stats what kind of bonus (or penalty) the weapon has. Furthermore, on that screen, if you click the gear icon to edit the action, you can see the unidentified name of the weapon.

Are these bugs with the ruleset, limitations of Fantasy Grounds (I imagine hiding the stats but still letting them roll isn't trivial), or just something I'm not understanding and haven't enabled on the item about the "id" system?

celestian
April 27th, 2020, 15:29