PDA

View Full Version : Awarding XP in Lost Mine of Phandelver

DK1138
April 25th, 2020, 12:43
G'day,

Forgive me if this is covered elsewhere I did quickly search for it here on the forums. Like many I am currently running Lost Mine of Phandelver and I have been awarding the players XP as they complete each and every encounter (I'm new to DMing and know there's many schools of thought on this but I feel it gives players a sense of progression as they go and it's so simple to do in FG) We are about to reach the end of part 1 and in that it mentioned a story milestone of a certain amount of XP should be rewarded at this point, roughly around what they have already been awarded, would this be instead of having done it as I went? If there is further info in the Players Handbook or DM Guide please just point me to the correct page and I can look it up myself, I have the core books as well as the starter set in hard copies.

Thanks in advance!

Trenloe
April 25th, 2020, 13:49
This is in addition to any XP gained from encounters.

If FG this is available as a "Quest" that you can add to the XP tab of the party sheet to help you assign the XP (read any instructions in the quest entry as it may need adjusting based off the number of players, etc.). https://fantasygroundsunity.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FGU/pages/819336/5E+Party+Sheet#XP-Tab

See "Story Award One" in the Quests data list as an example.

DK1138
April 25th, 2020, 14:19
Thank you! I’m finding the community here incredibly helpful!

Ecks
April 25th, 2020, 16:52
In the first chapter of Lost Mines of Phandelver, XP is handled slightly differently in that it has explicit instructions on how much XP to award per player.