PDA

View Full Version : NPC Module



esmdev
April 18th, 2020, 14:26
Hi.

I have been waiting for the equipment update for 1.1 and the NPC update in 1.0.3 to start this project. Now that both updates are out I have been (slowly) building an NPC module. My efforts at the moment have been centered around security guards but as time goes on I'll add a few more here and there and update the module.

NPCs are equipment light. I have given them all armor and weapons that seem appropriate and some of them have some equipment here and there, but my thinking is that often it is unneeded and if it is you can add what you like.

The module is read-only so in order to make a change you will need to create a separate entry. I did this to ensure that when I update the module you don't lose any custom changes.

I'm always open to suggestions. I struggled with the naming convention and eventually settled on what is in the module. The entries are a little wordy but I wanted to clearly define the basic function in a clear fashion.

Hope you find it useful.

Note: The content within is custom data not taken from any other source and can be used however you like.

EDIT (04/20/2020): Added some pirates to the mix using the Pirates of Drinax crew section as a guideline.
EDIT (04/27/2020): Added some Navy to the module using Element Cruiser crew generation rules.

MadBeardMan
April 18th, 2020, 14:31
Brilliant stuff!

I don't know about others, but I'm always in need for NPCs just when I don't have any to hand. Starport/Spaceport security are always welcome.

Cheers,
MBM

alfarobl
April 18th, 2020, 16:25
Love it! Thank you!

esmdev
April 18th, 2020, 16:55
So I saw in my screenshot that I had a couple of errors with the NPC in the screenshot. I am planning to update the module on Tuesday so that will be fixed. It should be limited to that one NPC. The corrections if you want to use before that would be to add the attack roll values and remove the G in front of Melee (natural). As you would use the attack from the weapon, the G shouldn't impact anything but it shouldn't be there.

backwardoracle
April 18th, 2020, 17:30
Excellent thanks, :)

alfarobl
April 19th, 2020, 00:18
So I saw in my screenshot that I had a couple of errors with the NPC in the screenshot. I am planning to update the module on Tuesday so that will be fixed. It should be limited to that one NPC. The corrections if you want to use before that would be to add the attack roll values and remove the G in front of Melee (natural). As you would use the attack from the weapon, the G shouldn't impact anything but it shouldn't be there.

Don't know if this is something you detected but I found that these NPCs cannot be unlocked and are readonly. I can copy those and duplicate to modify but don't know if it was intended that way versus other NPCs inside modules that allow opening lock and edit. It would help to add Tokens for example.
Also I attach a capture so you can see that Skills and Equipment look different and they seem fixed with no edit. Hope it helps!

33975

esmdev
April 19th, 2020, 00:38
Yes it is working as intended. The reason I did this was because it is my intention to re-release the modules periodically when I add more NPCs to it. This way it avoids me overwriting your data with my data. When you create a copy it incorporated into your campaign and any updates that I make won't overwrite it.

alfarobl
April 19th, 2020, 00:50
Yes it is working as intended. The reason I did this was because it is my intention to re-release the modules periodically when I add more NPCs to it. This way it avoids me overwriting your data with my data. When you create a copy it incorporated into your campaign and any updates that I make won't overwrite it.

Perfect. Makes a lot of sense. There is some graphical glitch with Skills as they seem to move inside the line separator?

esmdev
April 19th, 2020, 00:54
Can you post an image of Grr'en Pride? That way we can compare the image that I posted above with what you are seeing. Might be helpful to MBM as my module is only data that the ruleset outputs.

alfarobl
April 19th, 2020, 01:04
Can you post an image of Grr'en Pride? That way we can compare the image that I posted above with what you are seeing. Might be helpful to MBM as my module is only data that the ruleset outputs.

Yes... but that one looks Ok no issues. I think it has to do if NPC do not include Traits then it goes inside the line.

33976

esmdev
April 19th, 2020, 01:13
Hi. I looked and the original, made a copy of the original and looked at that too. I don't see what you see, which is odd. Everything is surrounded by a box. It is odd. I doesn't look like you have any extensions running so i'm at a loss. Maybe MBM might have an idea.

alfarobl
April 19th, 2020, 01:19
Weird... thank you. Seems something is different.

esmdev
April 19th, 2020, 01:26
I guess I should ask if you are using FGC or FGU, and are you using Windows, Mac or Linux. Not sure if any of those would factor but it would probably be good to know.

alfarobl
April 19th, 2020, 09:00
I guess I should ask if you are using FGC or FGU, and are you using Windows, Mac or Linux. Not sure if any of those would factor but it would probably be good to know.

I use FGC Windows 10. It is just cosmetic, so don't worry but it is strange.

alfarobl
April 19th, 2020, 17:42
Ok did a new test this time with FGU (Unity) just to discard that it was a Classic issue but no. Same issue is there you can see the cosmetic problem with Skills going into the separator line if there is no Traits defined. As you can see if I unlock a duplicate copy of the same NPC the box works and there is no issue. I think you are not really using the locked .mod file but your development NPCs and that is why you don't notice this issue. Lets hope MBM can check it.

34021
https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=34021&d=1587314522

MadBeardMan
April 19th, 2020, 18:17
Hello,

I'll check this one now, I only do FGC changes. FGU is the same code, the only different is that fonts (beyond my control) are scaling in a different way.

My game is just over an hour so it might be later.

Cheers,
MBM

MadBeardMan
April 19th, 2020, 21:26
Folks,

It's fixed. Pulled my game tonight cos my eldest needed her dad (rare these days!) so I've spent the last couple of hours working on more Traveller stuff.

Cheers,
MBM

esmdev
April 19th, 2020, 21:48
Folks,

It's fixed. Pulled my game tonight cos my eldest needed her dad (rare these days!) so I've spent the last couple of hours working on more Traveller stuff.

Cheers,
MBM

Thanks!

alfarobl
April 19th, 2020, 22:19
Yes. Thank you!

esmdev
April 20th, 2020, 14:27
I have uploaded an update that has 3 tiers of 6 crew positions for pirates.

To make these NPC pirates I used the crew section found in Pirates of Drinax book 1.

There are no named individuals in this update.

I am thinking that I might keep this mod to generic NPCs and make a separate one for named in the future.

MadBeardMan
April 20th, 2020, 14:39
I have uploaded an update that has 3 tiers of 6 crew positions for pirates.

To make these NPC pirates I used the crew section found in Pirates of Drinax book 1.

There are no named individuals in this update.

I am thinking that I might keep this mod to generic NPCs and make a separate one for named in the future.

Hi Esmdev,

Yes please, as BackwardOracle has been ace to send me some of the material for Pirates so it's shooting up my list to get out - eta mid summer!

Cheers,
MBM

esmdev
April 27th, 2020, 18:16
I had hoped to get more done with this update but I've got a bunch of other projects going on taking most of my time.

In this update I used the crew generation rules from the Element Class Cruiser boxed set. I created a pilot and an astrogator at each of the 13 ranks that are covered. The equipment remains the same for each of them, the stats are generated for each separately and the skills build on the baseline (recruit for enlisted and officer cadet for officer).

Hopefully these added peeps are useful.

Edit: Oh, I also added categories, Navy, Pirate, Security to make them easier to find as the list gets longer.

backwardoracle
April 27th, 2020, 21:58
Excellent, For the next update could you add Merchants, Brokers and other Admin Staff, I have a a few done myself, but yours is better & keeping them all together in one module is a good idea.

esmdev
April 28th, 2020, 14:57
Excellent, For the next update could you add Merchants, Brokers and other Admin Staff, I have a a few done myself, but yours is better & keeping them all together in one module is a good idea.

I was starting to work on some named citizens, would you be looking for generics or named people in the above categories?

backwardoracle
April 28th, 2020, 15:28
Generics would be fine, I could put together a module of named Contacts, Allies etc. (Unless you'd be doing that too), Perhaps with more portraits?

sallerin
April 28th, 2020, 16:37
Great job very useful!
If you have access to Rpgsuite, there is a NPC creation module that can perhaps save you time.

esmdev
April 29th, 2020, 03:28
Generics would be fine, I could put together a module of named Contacts, Allies etc. (Unless you'd be doing that too), Perhaps with more portraits?

I became a database programmer because I am the opposite of artistic so I'll never be doing portraits. I'll try and put some stuff together, at the moment I've got a lot of projects on my plate.

esmdev
April 29th, 2020, 03:34
Great job very useful!
If you have access to Rpgsuite, there is a NPC creation module that can perhaps save you time.

I got RPGsuite when it first came out and found it to be crazy buggy and didn't really like their lack of communication and extremely slow fix time. It's been years so I checked int out recently and wasn't super impressed that it is a gigantic mess of annoying ads.

alfarobl
May 22nd, 2020, 09:45
If I can provide ideas for the next NPC batch to come... Big Cruise personnel... Stewards, Bartender, Casino personnel, Passengers, Maintenance staff, Entertainer, Chef, Captain, ...

esmdev
May 22nd, 2020, 13:29
To be honest haven't had a lot of spare time lately and I'm currently running a 5E game that is taking most of it. I probably won't be circling back to Traveller until Fall or Winter.

MadBeardMan
May 22nd, 2020, 13:54
To be honest haven't had a lot of spare time lately and I'm currently running a 5E game that is taking most of it. I probably won't be circling back to Traveller until Fall or Winter.

Hey Chap,

Sad news really, I have started to gather all the notes for the NPC's from your wants/ideas over the past few months, maybe they'll be there waiting for you later in the year.

Cheers,
MBM

esmdev
May 24th, 2020, 02:59
Hey Chap,

Sad news really, I have started to gather all the notes for the NPC's from your wants/ideas over the past few months, maybe they'll be there waiting for you later in the year.

Cheers,
MBM

I will still be here crawling through the forums and helping where I can, just not doing any content stuff at more than a snail's pace. I just figured I should let people know.

I'm actually playing in a Traveller game atm and the group is always looking forward to the updates plus it gives me a chance to watch for anything. When I'm running I spend so much time running I don't notice the little things.

MadBeardMan
May 24th, 2020, 14:25
I will still be here crawling through the forums and helping where I can, just not doing any content stuff at more than a snail's pace. I just figured I should let people know.

I'm actually playing in a Traveller game atm and the group is always looking forward to the updates plus it gives me a chance to watch for anything. When I'm running I spend so much time running I don't notice the little things.

Fingers crossed the correct updated gets released on Tuesday, all the new bits plus the full auto fix you and others talked about.

Your input has been excellent, so keep playing.

Cheers,
MBM

backwardoracle
May 28th, 2020, 14:41
:) "so keep playing" well I'm sure we have more people running than before, so that's more gamer's, and future gamers.

Thank you for your excellent work on this.

Sylvesr
September 9th, 2020, 03:41
This looks exciting and I downloaded it and popped it into the module folder but I don't see it in my library? Suggestions?

Thanks

Trenloe
September 9th, 2020, 09:11
This looks exciting and I downloaded it and popped it into the module folder but I don't see it in my library? Suggestions?
It's tagged for the MGT2 ruleset. Are you loading a MGT2 campaign? I don't have the Traveller ruleset, so I don't know of the first edition will load modules tagged for the second edition.
Have you restarted FG after copying the .mod file to the <FG app data>\modules directory? After restarting FG look for "MGT2 Citizens" in your module activation screen.

esmdev
September 9th, 2020, 15:30
Hi.

I did a quick test downloading the forum module into both Classic and Unity and it appears in both libraries. I also loaded the PC Spacecraft Beta to be sure that there was nothing going on with that, but it didn't interfere with the module either.

As Trenloe mentioned, it requires restarting FG (including the launcher) to add modules (and extensions, themes, rulesets, etc.) so hopefully you will see it after a restart.

Also, you might want to check the modules directory to make sure it actually saved there, I have sometimes saved modules into the wrong directory on accident, which of course will make it inaccessible.

Finally, if you have restarted, and you are sure it's in the module directory, try deleting it and redownloading it. Maybe something happened in the initial download.

If you are still having problems locating it, that will probably be something that needs to be addressed to MBM in the bugs forum.

adzling
September 9th, 2020, 17:36
i dropped this into my modules folder, fired up FGU and cannot find this anywhere.

Got any pointers?
thanks

esmdev
September 9th, 2020, 18:09
That is really odd, I'm not able to replicate that.

If I look in the module library and sort by MGT under name I see this...

39210

adzling
September 9th, 2020, 18:16
ok file this under user error, once i activated it under assets i found it.

esmdev
September 9th, 2020, 18:44
ok file this under user error, once i activated it under assets i found it.

Good to know. :)

esmdev
September 15th, 2020, 21:32
I have tested this under 1.1.4 and everything seems to be working.