PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help in creating Tunnels and Trolls ruleset

Dalton Calford
April 15th, 2020, 16:28
Hi Everyone,

I am new to lua, having only used FG as a GM/Player

I am very familiar with Tunnels and Trolls and I am hitting some walls in reading the lua example code and would love to speak with someone who understands FG and lua so that I can create the system.

Tunnels and Trolls Mechanics are summarized below

Die Mechanics

Tunnels and Trolls only uses D6

TARO (Triples add and roll over: Exploding Triples)
Taro is mostly used during character creation.
Roll 3D6, get a total, if the dice where 3 of a kind, mark the result as special and roll again, adding the new result to the current total. Repeat until triples are no longer rolled.
The final total and if it is special or not is what is returned.

DARO (Doubles add and roll over : Exploding Doubles)
Daro is the game mechanic used for skills/saving throws etc.
It is generally called with a die modifier equal to the passed attribute ie DARO (STR)
Roll 2D6,
if a '1' and a '2' was the first roll, return a fumble
get a total of the dice, if the dice 2 of a kind, re-roll, get a total and add it to the running total and repeat until doubles are no longer rolled
Return the Running Total (this is experience points) and The running total + passed die Modifier (this is the applied result).
So at a minimum, you will get two results (experience and die result). The Experience points go onto the player who made the roll.

Combat Roll
This is the most complex mechanic of the game.
You need a dice tower type area with two sections, that has a "resolve" button, lets call that the 'combat tower' for the sake of discussion.
For each combat you have two sides "A" and "B"
Side "A" rolls their dice into one side of the combat tower, which can also include die modifiers. This could be multiple characters