PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions on game system?

Malleable
April 14th, 2020, 02:10
So I am new to Fantasy Grounds. I just bought the FGU ultimate version. Friends of mine are working with 'the other' online gaming system, but FG seems to have a larger variety of rule sets/game systems.
I typically play Rolemaster (RMFRPG, but have used RM2 in the past), but am not sure if the complexity of the game would slow things down. I do have all the Shadow World supplements in paper form, so I could build some adventures with them. If I go with RM, should I use the rolemaster classic modules, or the coreRPG stuff - I don't know which is more developed.
I also like GURPS, but not sure if there are enough supplements out there for it. I haven't GMed in decades, so not sure about writing my own material.
I am interested in Vampire, but have only played a couple sessions. Are there any source material for this? Modules?
Besides that I have been playing some D&D lately - so I could play it. My problem with D&D is the amount of supplemental source material that makes the classes interesting, but there is so much of it that I would have to buy to make it work for me. Module support is fantastic though...

What suggestions or comments can you make regarding these game systems?

Thanks,
Mal

LordEntrails
April 14th, 2020, 02:35
Tough question... Really, the correct answer, imo, is what drives you?

Now, for me, I run D&D 5E. I play in a Star Frontiers and a Dragon Lance 3.5E game. But if/when I run something I tend heavily towards 5E. Lots of reasons, for me I feel it doesn't have the glut of options other editions or games have. If you run with the Adventure's League concept of PHB+1, then you really only need the PHB for character generation and then players can buy that optional +1 resource if they want something for their character.