PDA

View Full Version : Los and emulating vision range

swrzy
April 12th, 2020, 18:22
Hi,

after some research and testing I realized Los is infinite. However I am planning a hexcrawly type of session and I would like my small island to be explored step by step.
Since I am new to FG in general I appreciate any advice - maybe there is a simple way to achieve what I am aiming for. Masking seems a little cumbersome however. I would need to unlock my map in game and manually unblock certain areas repeatedly. Considering the reactivity of the unity client and my rather limited accuracy skills I would rather not.

So I fiddled with the different Los options and came up with a grid of terrain lines. That would result in each "square" of terrain being revealed once my PCs entered. Close I guess. There seems to be some second type of fog around the lines of terrain once you leave it. Or maybe its just because of my GM vision, but the fog of areas already explored has some kind of darker tone around the lines of terrain. Anyway, Im fine with that.

Two questions:
1. Should I expect any performance issues with so much switching of sight? Los in general seems to work fine, allthough my GPU Fans becomes noticeable.
2. In a perfect world you could see in the surrounding squares too, but I cant really get my head around it. The grid just needs a lot of parallel lines. Creating each square by itself obviously is way too much work to use it comfortably and also creates strange sections in between.

Any ideas or corrections of my misguided thoughts are much appreciated!

Zacchaeus
April 12th, 2020, 18:26
Hiswrzy welcome to FG.

See video two here as an alternative (use the mask in conjunction with LoS). https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?55797-How-do-I-in-Unity&p=492112#post492112

LordEntrails
April 12th, 2020, 19:29