PDA

View Full Version : Having Module Show up in Data Activation



huntsfromshadow
April 7th, 2020, 12:34
So I figured I'd as a personal project try to build a new version of Mutants and Mastermind's 3rd edition ruleset.
Ambitious, but right now I've got some time.

Starting with CoreRPG as a base and modifying it importing parts of the old ruleset as appropriate or as needed.

I am having an issue having the M&M 3rd edition hero handbook module to show up in the Data Activation screen.

I tracked down where scripts/data_desktop.lua where the modules are being registered, but I can't seem to pass in the data
so it shows up. My gut feeling is it's a naming thing I don't understand or a low level thing of how modules interact with a ruleset.

Here is my aDataModuleSet table. Any thoughts? I looked through the docs but I couldn't find any details on this one.


aDataModuleSet =
{
["local"] =
{
{
name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd",
modules =
{
{ name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Ed Heroes Handbook" },
},
},
},
["host"] =
{
{
name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd",
modules =
{
{ name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Ed Heroes Handbook" },
},
},
},
["client"] =
{
{
name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd",
modules =
{
{ name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Ed Heroes Handbook" },
},
},
},
};

superteddy57
April 7th, 2020, 13:32
You might want to check on how 5E does it as it does offer more in terms of other things it may be looking for. I haven't had a chance to do module pre-loads, but see if 5E might unlock the secret for you.

Trenloe
April 7th, 2020, 13:49
Try "Hero's Handbook" - this is the internal name within the module definition.xml file.

huntsfromshadow
April 7th, 2020, 14:27
@superteddy - Yep I got the format the table needs to be in 5e.
@Trenloe - Doesn't seem to help.

here is the data structure from data_desktop.lua after I tried a lot of combinations.


aDataModuleSet =
{
["local"] =
{
{
name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Edition",
modules =
{
{ name = "Hero's Handbook" },
},
},
},
["host"] =
{
{
name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Edition",
modules =
{
{ name = "Hero's Handbook" },
},
},
},
["client"] =
{
{
name = "Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Edition",
modules =
{
{ name = "Hero's Handbook" },
},
},
},
};


In case it makes a diffrence here is the rules node from base.xml


<importinfo>
<acceptfrom ruleset="CoreRPG" />
<acceptfrom ruleset="MutantsMasterminds3" />
</importinfo>


The core rpg right now is stock minus a bunch of commented xml that is notes for myself.

Trenloe
April 7th, 2020, 14:56
OK, I think we need to clarify the issue here.

Do you see the module at all in the Module Activation screen? All of the code above is just to give a default set of modules - which is only used in the campaign startup screen (shown when you load a new campaign). It doesn't control whether the module appears in the module activation window.

The Hero's Handbook is created for the Mutants and Masterminds 3rd ruleset. It won't load in another ruleset, unless you have an acceptfrom entry for Mutants and Masterminds 3rd

huntsfromshadow
April 7th, 2020, 15:04
@Trenloe - Happy to help clarify.

First - Ahh I didn't realize that was a defualt for that campagin setup.

Second - No I do not see the module at all in the Module Activation Screen.
But that gave me the direction I needed.

I modified the accept from statement to 'Mutants and Masterminds 3rd' and it showed up.
What threw me is the current ruleset for M&M uses the string 'MutantsMasterminds3'

Thanks for the help.

Trenloe
April 7th, 2020, 15:23
What threw me is the current ruleset for M&M uses the string 'MutantsMasterminds3'
That's for older products released specifically with that old ruleset name.

The current ruleset name is the name of the ruleset .pak file.

huntsfromshadow
April 7th, 2020, 15:37
Got it thanks.