PDA

View Full Version : Unarmored Defense Stacking with Armor

MTBLloyd
April 5th, 2020, 01:51
Hello. I'm new to Fantasy Grounds (using Unity) and to these forums. I noticed that when comparing a D&D Beyond barbarian in my campaign to the equivalent in Fantasy Grounds that his armor class went up 2 points in FG (from 15 to 17). I narrowed it down to the chain shirt (AC 13) being stacked with both the +2 Con and Dex bonuses (14 in each).

What would be the simplest way for me to correct this in my local installation? Also, how does bug reporting work for these sorts of things?

Thanks in advance and hopefully I'm not asking something that's already come up here before.

Moon Wizard
April 5th, 2020, 02:47
The FG code will not auto-equip armor when you have the Unarmored Defense trait. If you decide to manually equip the armor, you'll need to modify the AC calculation by using the magnifying glass on the front of the PC.

Regards,
JPG

MTBLloyd
April 5th, 2020, 03:08
Perfect, thanks! I didn't realize the function behind that magnifying glass. At some point, I'd love to be able to go in and make a rules edit to the 5e pak to add a conditional to the constitution bonus for unarmored defense but, being new and all, I haven't taken a look at the API or whatever domain language the system uses.

MTBLloyd
April 5th, 2020, 20:25
I see that items and stat changes don't affect characters. I equipped an amulet of health on another character and saw that I needed to change the CON and HP scores manually. I noticed that there are various community-driven extensions out there so maybe a bit of exploration is needed to make this work as I thought it would.

Beemanpat
April 5th, 2020, 21:38
I'd recommend Advanced Effects by Celestian
https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?40833-5E-Advanced-Effects-(items-npcs-characters)

Not sure if its FGU ready so beware.

GavinRuneblade
April 5th, 2020, 22:38